From: Santa Rosa, CA
I've just started turn 7 and I am showing (before moving a single piece) 20000+ losses, am I right that these are the effects of the attrition rules during my general logistics phase?
They are impact of front line attrition and also logistics checks on damaged units that may destroy or fix them.
Am i also right in thinking that half of these losses will return to the manpower pool in the logistics phase of the next turn? (The other half are KIA?)
Some of these men are disabled. Depends on what caused the loss. Somewhere in the manual it lists what percentage of units lost are disabled, etc. depending on reason for them being destroyed or sent back to the pool. Someone should pull together all the various numbers as I'm sure many would be interested.
Am I also right in thinking that a similiar hit will strike my opponent after my turn has ended and the Soviet turn begins with the Soviet player general logistics phase when his units attrit?
Yes, but you won't see it, because of when the current and turn losses are zeroed out (right after the logistics phase after first viewing of losses screen).
Sorry if these are newbie questions, but I am getting back into this after a year out and want to try and understand whether my losses are going to be prohibitive or not.
Is the real loss figure KIA + Captured?
Those are real permanent losses, but disabled come back very slowly. There are also casualties that happen that never show up as a loss in the permanent totals because these are men that went back to the transit pool but will be available fairly quickly (unlike disabled that return slowly). Some make the mistake of thinking that permanent losses (kia, captured, disabled) equals total casualties and this can be compared to historical casualty totals. This is incorrect. There are many casualties that are men leaving units and going to the transit pool which are not listed in the permanent losses.
Of the 120000 I have disabled, how many will return to the manpower pool and when? (Assuming all units disengaged and did no fighting, so additions
to the disabled pool were minimal if any - just for example's sake) would the entire pool return to duty eventually (or would everyone minus a certain % considered too badly injured?)
For the Axis, 1% will return each turn (split by country, see 220.127.116.11 in the manual). For the Soviets, starting with version 1.05.18, it is only 1/2% per turn.
What are good and bad losses for the start of turn 7 AXIS?
Any help much appreciated.
All understanding comes after the fact.
-- Soren Kierkegaard