Matrix Games Forums

War in the West gets its first update!Flashpoint Campaigns: Red Storm version 2.08 is now available!Command gets huge update!Order of Battle: Pacific Featured on Weekly Streaming SessionA new fight for Battle Academy!Buzz Aldrin's Space Program Manager is out for Mac!The definitive wargame of the Western Front is out now! War in the West gets teaser trailer and Twitch Stream!New Preview AAR for War in the West!War in the West Manual preview
Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

First naval unit must abort

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> First naval unit must abort Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
First naval unit must abort - 2/8/2012 10:14:31 PM   
bo

 

Posts: 3230
Joined: 5/1/2009
Status: offline
I read the rule and thats it but I would like a reason why the first naval unit has to be turned facedown and in adg's wif same thing when naval combat starts. A rule is a rule I understand that but can anyone here explain to me why that rule is in effect, what is or was the thinking here?

Bo
Post #: 1
RE: First naval unit must abort - 2/8/2012 11:15:54 PM   
Taxman66


Posts: 132
Joined: 3/19/2008
Status: offline
I think/believe it is to prevent an unlimited number of search attempts in a sea zone that you have limited number assets in. Remember you can initiate a search with planes (including CVPs) as well.

_____________________________

"Part of the $10 million I spent on gambling, part on booze and part on women. The rest I spent foolishly." - George Raft

(in reply to bo)
Post #: 2
RE: First naval unit must abort - 2/8/2012 11:37:09 PM   
paulderynck


Posts: 4741
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: bo

I read the rule and thats it but I would like a reason why the first naval unit has to be turned facedown and in adg's wif same thing when naval combat starts. A rule is a rule I understand that but can anyone here explain to me why that rule is in effect, what is or was the thinking here?

Bo

First in case of confusion in view of the title of your post - flipping a naval unit is not the same as aborting it.

In WiF, flipping units is akin to using their capacity to act. For land units it is more a case of being disorganized by combat or moving in difficult terrain/weather. But for air and naval units, if they get used for something during a turn such as supporting an attack, ground striking, invading, or shore bombardment - or in this case initiating a serach for the enemy, they are "used" for the turn, unless they can be re-organized.

It's true that the mechanic works to prevent a player from searching impulse after impulse with just one unit in the sea zone.

If a naval unit is flipped already, there are times you'd welcome getting it aborted (either voluntarily or by combat) so that it can go somewhere that it can be re-organized - and then you may be able to use it again the same turn.



_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to bo)
Post #: 3
RE: First naval unit must abort - 2/9/2012 4:23:09 AM   
bo

 

Posts: 3230
Joined: 5/1/2009
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck


quote:

ORIGINAL: bo

I read the rule and thats it but I would like a reason why the first naval unit has to be turned facedown and in adg's wif same thing when naval combat starts. A rule is a rule I understand that but can anyone here explain to me why that rule is in effect, what is or was the thinking here?

Bo

First in case of confusion in view of the title of your post - flipping a naval unit is not the same as aborting it.

In WiF, flipping units is akin to using their capacity to act. For land units it is more a case of being disorganized by combat or moving in difficult terrain/weather. But for air and naval units, if they get used for something during a turn such as supporting an attack, ground striking, invading, or shore bombardment - or in this case initiating a serach for the enemy, they are "used" for the turn, unless they can be re-organized.

It's true that the mechanic works to prevent a player from searching impulse after impulse with just one unit in the sea zone.

If a naval unit is flipped already, there are times you'd welcome getting it aborted (either voluntarily or by combat) so that it can go somewhere that it can be re-organized - and then you may be able to use it again the same turn.



sorry made a mistake the program requires that one ship becomes disorganized.

Bo

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 4
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> First naval unit must abort Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.063