Matrix Games Forums

New Fronts are opening up for Commander: The Great WarCharacters of World War 1Sign of for the Pike and Shot Beta!More Games are Coming to Steam! Deal of the Week: Combat Command Return to the Moon on October 31st! Commander: The Great War iPad Wallpapers Generals of the Great WarDeal of the Week Panzer CorpsNew Strategy Titles Join the Family
Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Two of them?

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Distant Worlds Series >> Two of them? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Two of them? - 1/19/2012 12:50:35 AM   
Blueberry

 

Posts: 85
Joined: 12/16/2011
From: Distant Worlds
Status: offline
I've been playing since the original game and have never ever encountered two world destroyers in a single game. It has always been a single ship found to be repaired and deployed. Granted, this is my very first time playing as bugs... am I missing something? Has it been the case of me being unlucky and discovering only one in all of my gaming all this time? Star systems where both projects have been discovered are actually quite close to each other.

Another question about super laser.... If I am not mistaken, in DW ROTS installing the super laser found as a separate tech on a planet with ruins on a ship would not necessarily create a world destroyer. The player would end up with creating a ship that could deliver massive volumes of damage but not destroy the planets. I remember experimenting with the concept but not sure if I am right on this one. Has anything changed in Legends? thanks.
Post #: 1
RE: Two of them? - 1/19/2012 6:40:56 AM   
ehsumrell1


Posts: 2022
Joined: 8/17/2010
From: The Briar Patch Nebula
Status: online
Hello Blueberry;

I can assure you that there are two World Destroyers probable in every game. One will be
called 'World Destroyer', the other will be named 'Desolation Moon'. I have had 80% or
more of my games (testing and playing) with two of them. I'm betting that your explorer
ships have only been finding one.

Concerning the Super Laser, a ship with the super laser could have the power to blast a planet
as long as its reactor power requirement is met. I've noticed though that outside of a World
Destroyer chassis, its accuracy is not high and misses often. The Death Ray is a different
story though.

< Message edited by ehsumrell1 -- 1/19/2012 6:43:03 AM >


_____________________________

Shields are useless in "The Briar Patch"...

(in reply to Blueberry)
Post #: 2
RE: Two of them? - 1/19/2012 2:10:05 PM   
Astax

 

Posts: 126
Joined: 5/17/2010
Status: offline
S.R. Hadden: First rule in government spending: why build one when you can have two at twice the price?

(in reply to ehsumrell1)
Post #: 3
RE: Two of them? - 1/19/2012 3:50:33 PM   
ScottenChi

 

Posts: 174
Joined: 12/9/2005
Status: online
quote:

ORIGINAL: Astax

S.R. Hadden: First rule in government spending: why build one when you can have two at twice the price?


Great movie, great quote!

(in reply to Astax)
Post #: 4
RE: Two of them? - 1/19/2012 8:05:08 PM   
Theluin


Posts: 184
Joined: 5/13/2011
From: Europe, Terra
Status: offline
I usually have 3 in my games. The World Destroyer, the Desolation Moon and the Devastation Moon. You probably found only one in your games up to now because the AI really likes to sabotage constructors that are repairing them. 

(in reply to ScottenChi)
Post #: 5
RE: Two of them? - 1/20/2012 1:33:37 AM   
Jim D Burns


Posts: 3113
Joined: 2/25/2002
From: Salida, CA.
Status: offline
Another reason you may not have found the other moons, is I believe if you trade maps with the AI powers, it shows the planetary bodies, but battle moon sites and debris fields still need to be discovered by your ships.

So unless you enter the system, you’ll never see them. And since the system is now considered mapped, your explorers never go there unless they enter by chance to refuel or something. I’m not 100% sure about this though.

Jim


< Message edited by Jim D Burns -- 1/20/2012 1:35:17 AM >


_____________________________



(in reply to Theluin)
Post #: 6
RE: Two of them? - 1/20/2012 2:18:18 AM   
adecoy95


Posts: 405
Joined: 3/26/2010
Status: offline
you find 3 in the largest star settings, i am pretty sure its based on star count

(in reply to Jim D Burns)
Post #: 7
RE: Two of them? - 1/20/2012 7:22:57 AM   
Howard Mitchell


Posts: 449
Joined: 6/3/2002
From: Blighty
Status: offline
I've come across three as well. 15x15 map with 1,400 stars.

I think Jim D. is right as well.

_____________________________

While the battles the British fight may differ in the widest possible ways, they invariably have two common characteristics – they are always fought uphill and always at the junction of two or more map sheets.

General Sir William Slim

(in reply to adecoy95)
Post #: 8
RE: Two of them? - 1/20/2012 3:04:05 PM   
Blueberry

 

Posts: 85
Joined: 12/16/2011
From: Distant Worlds
Status: offline
That makes perfect sense, Jim.

I suppose the map setup/size and playing style may also be the key factors in this particular case of mine. Thanks for the replies. I also have another question and would prefer to ask the community without having to create a new post.

The original game had a certain limited number of fleets that a player could create. I was playing a game without the latest patches. What's the limit in Legends if, of course, there is any? Never had to actually form more than 15 fleets but it's always good to know. I'd check this on my own but all I have right now is my sister's pink laptop with flowers stamped all over it and the memory of a calculator.

< Message edited by Blueberry -- 1/20/2012 3:17:02 PM >

(in reply to Howard Mitchell)
Post #: 9
RE: Two of them? - 1/20/2012 5:45:21 PM   
Jerkface

 

Posts: 28
Joined: 12/6/2011
Status: offline
I can confirm Jims observation.  In fact next game I will never get an AI's galaxy map.  Very frustrating.

(in reply to Blueberry)
Post #: 10
RE: Two of them? - 1/27/2012 8:17:54 PM   
iski19

 

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/28/2011
Status: offline
So is getting the AI's galaxy map a bug? or just another reason not to use automation?  lol  sorry if this is a noob question 

(in reply to Jerkface)
Post #: 11
RE: Two of them? - 1/28/2012 7:33:53 AM   
Theluin


Posts: 184
Joined: 5/13/2011
From: Europe, Terra
Status: offline
It's not a bug. It's just that if your explorers checked every system which map you already bought again and again in a game with original story line turned off (which IMO is better and doesn't unbalance the game) that would be more frustrating to a player who wouldn't get those shiny new worlds than losing a few advanced ships (which you can outdesign at tech 2) But that's just my opinion

(in reply to iski19)
Post #: 12
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Distant Worlds Series >> Two of them? Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.145