No more "been there, done that" games, please!

Gamers can also use this forum to chat about any game related subject, news, rumours etc.

Moderator: maddog986

Rusty1961

No more "been there, done that" games, please!

Post by Rusty1961 »

Hey, I love games as much as the next person, but why can't game companies, like Matrix, start making some unique games instead of just rehashing WW2 games like the battles on the Eastern Front (bored now!), Normandy, or any variation of the above?

I've been fighting these same battles for 30+ years now and it is getting a little stale. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy them, but when I see an announcement of ANOTHER Eastern Front game my eyes just glaze over.

Ideas:

A. Viet Nam games. Why ignore this war?

B. Afghanistan. Yes, we have SBs from Tiller, but I'd like to see an operational level game.

C. Wars in Africa.

D. A re-make of North Atlantic '86. Now that game was a CLASSIC, the best of the 3 grigsby games from the 1980s. Imagine this time "China Sea 2016" where China now is the aggressor and the various nations which surround the China Sea are opposing China's advances. Just take the War in the Pacific game engine and there you go.

E. Iran-Iraq war of the 80s. Biggest war since WW2 yet it is essentially ignored. The last year of the war had lots of maneuver and in '86 the Iranians did some hard fighting around Basara.

F. NATO vs. WP.

I could go on, but you get my point. Please, I ask you, consider doing something other than another Normandy game!

God made man, but Sam Colt made them equal.
Titanwarrior89

RE: No more "been there, done that" games, please!

Post by Titanwarrior89 »

Far as I can remember, most of the largest and longest wars/campaigns have been covered and recovered.  New systems, new ideals-updates on past history/oob's.   I would like to see some good Plt. level vietnam games, with large enough maps.  HPS squad series maps are too small in some cases.