The Eternal Return of the Same Games

Gamers can also use this forum to chat about any game related subject, news, rumours etc.

Moderator: maddog986

GaryChildress

The Eternal Return of the Same Games

Post by GaryChildress »

I have to confess I am just about "re-maked" out. I picked up Panzer Corps lately, played a couple scenarios of the main campaign and haven't played a whole lot since. It just reminds me too much of Panzer General which I played to death when it came out. I've collected the entire Matrix catalog of Close Combat remakes, the WitPAE remake--all games that I loved to death when they first came out but now I really find myself bored with remakes. These are all games which I played into the ground in their original incarnations.

I just wish there were something new out there that I haven't seen before but, honestly, I've been gaming for over 10 years and there just isn't that much out there which catches me anymore like when I first started gaming...not that it's healthy to stay up wee hours of the morning for just "one more turn" but I really just don't get that from gaming anymore.

I feel like a long term heroin addict complaining that I don't get the same high as I once did. But it was fun while it lasted. Maybe there will be some new "highs" out there some day. [:(]

Terminus

RE: The Eternal Return of the Same Games

Post by Terminus »

+1, albeit without the whole heroin thing...
We are all dreams of the Giant Space Butterfly.
michael1776

Post by michael1776 »

I can't say I have ever done heroin but I understand what you are saying. Every time I start up a game now it's dejavu all over again. Maybe it's just a sign of getting older?
Current Games:
Gary Grigsby's War Between the States
Panzer Corps
Battle Academy
Forge of Freedom
Lützow

Post by Lützow »