OK, here we are again!
Currently, units will withdraw as expected as long as their route is not blocked by an enemy unit or its ZoC. If the route is blocked they take a hit; rather than just sit there at Disruption 4.
Does this still depend on passing a quality check first? If the check passes, the unit may attempt to retreat?
From pg 25, "Units in Withdraw Posture take Quality Checks and, if passed, retreat. If the unit does not pass the quality check it remains in place, lose a step and may even be eliminated."
I believe this applies to all units regardless of disruption level.
From page 32, "A unit starting in an EZOC can only enter an adjacent EZOC (via Infiltration) or an adjacent non-EZOC hex by Withdrawing from it during the Withdrawal Phase."
From PJ's statement above, there is NO entering an EZOC regardless
From pg 33, "A unit in Withdraw Posture must withdraw during the Withdrawal Phase if adjacent to the enemy. Withdrawing units may take additional casualties or Disruption based on the presence of friendly / enemy units. When units withdraw from assault combat, one less hit is taken by each side, if any hits were called for.
If it is not in an enemy ZOC, it will never withdraw.
Example 1: Two units are battling each other. The defender orders his unit to Withdraw. As it turns out the attacker took some damage and must withdraw. The attacker withdraws first (as per the manual). The defender is no longer in an enemy ZOC so he will not withdraw in spite of the order.
Example 2: Two units are battling each other. As it turns out both units took damage and both must withdraw. The attacker withdraws first. The defender is no longer in an enemy ZOC so he will not withdraw in spite of the result. "
From pg 37, "Every Withdrawing unit takes a Quality Check. Additional Disruption and/or hits may result. See “Charts and Tables” in Section 10 for a full explanation."
Quality chk? Do we need to modify tables in section 10?
From pg 38, "Any unit in a Withdrawal Posture MUST withdraw (W/D) during the Withdrawal Phase if not in enemy EZOC. (Exception: Withdrawing units with no enemy units adjacent are never forced to withdraw.) A Withdrawal is a move from an EZOC hex into a Non-EZOC hex.
Withdrawal occurs in two ways:
• A unit may be forced to Withdraw as a result of combat.
• A unit that adopted a Withdrawal Posture during the Movement Phase must W/D during the Withdrawal Phase (unless accepted as above).
Units surrounded by EZOCs will lose a step and increase Disruption +1"
first sentence - should add: unless all hexes are EZOCs.
From pg 38, Withdrawing units never have to spend additional MPs for exiting an EZOC. During their Withdrawal, however, a withdrawing unit may not enter an EZOC. If a unit cannot withdraw due to the presence of EZOCs or enemy units, it takes a Withdrawal Check, assumes a Defensive Posture, and remains in place. It loses any previous Fort Levels. NOT SURE ABOUT THAT LAST PART. DELETE?[color=#FF0000] The unit will lose a step and increase Disruption +1"
withdrawal check or does it lose a step and increases disruption?
From pg 39, "Any unit that must withdraw will be highlighted. Select a highlighted unit and its withdrawal path and final withdrawal hexes will be displayed. The unit must end its withdrawal in one of the green hexes. The red hexes show the rout it must take to reach a green hex. The Player can either withdraw the unit one hex at a time, or withdraw the unit at once by clicking on a green hex. (If no green hex is displayed for a withdrawing unit, then it must withdraw until it has 0 MPs remaining. In this case, it may end its withdrawal in a red hex, so long as it has no MPs remaining.) Units that must withdraw have a dashed highlight. The currently selected withdrawing unit has a solid highlight. The Player can select and de-select units by clicking on them. (Keep in mind that the act of withdrawing may cause further disruption and loss of step if surrounded by EZOCs. The game will inform you of this at the beginning of the Withdrawal Phase.) To end a unit’s withdrawal prior to the unit expending all MPs (when its withdrawal ends automatically), click “Finished Withdrawing” to go to the next withdrawing unit (if any)."
From pg 39, "Withdrawing units must take a Quality Check which could result in Disruption Levels or loss of step on the Withdrawing unit if within EZOCs."
OK. Maybe add bit about no w/d into EZOCs?
Based on your testing so far, can you guys review and make corrections? I think what is confusing me is whether there is a difference between a unit forced to w/d via combat vs. a unit that has been odered to w/d for re-deployment. I think some clarification is needed here as to what rule differences apply, if any.
< Message edited by Max 86 -- 3/9/2012 4:53:15 PM >
No problem Chief!