Supply

From the legendary team at 2 by 3 Games comes a new grand strategy masterpiece: Gary Grigsby’s War Between the States. Taking gamers back to the American Civil War, this innovative grand strategy game allows players to experience the trials and tribulations of the role of commander-in-chief for either side. Historically accurate, detailed and finely balanced for realistic gameplay, War Between the States is also easy to play and does not take months to finish.

Moderators: Joel Billings, PyleDriver

BK6583

Supply

Post by BK6583 »

I am new to this game but it seems this forum is still active. I'm playing the Union and am gradually getting the hang of all of its nuances, particularly the leadership game engine. But supplies are really vexing me even after reading the manual several times over. My main problem is for the past year (Jan '62 - Jan '63) my overall supply numbers are sometimes down to low double digits. Some turns started at 0. Part of the problem was I had too many depots but even after eliminting what seemed to be the ones serving no useful function it hasn't helped, particularly as I've started to grow a rather large Union army overall. Questions:

1. What real purpose do supply depots serve? In AGOED's civil war game depots were absolutely essential to any Union advances, particularly in the West and Tennessee regions. In this game I haven't figured out what they really do for me.

2. I'm not getting the supply grid concept. In the West, from Humbolt through Kentucky, almost all of the regions are showing a supply cost of one and they're all showing Grid 339, which is Detroit, which is a ways away from these regions. Should I be building absolutely nothing but supply in Detroit?