Matrix Games Forums

Battle Academy is now available on SteamPlayers compare Ageods Civil War to Civil War IIDeal of the week - An updated War in the East goes half Price!Sign up for the Qvadriga beta for iPad and Android!Come and say hi at Pax and SaluteLegends of War goes on sale!Piercing Fortress Europa Gets UpdatedBattle Academy Mega Pack is now availableClose Combat: Gateway to Caen Teaser TrailerDeal of the Week Alea Jacta Est
Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

AGC and Amph Force HQ

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition >> Tech Support >> AGC and Amph Force HQ Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
AGC and Amph Force HQ - 5/2/2011 11:40:40 AM   
Sardaukar


Posts: 5785
Joined: 11/28/2001
From: Finland/now in Israel
Status: offline
Michaelm, if you have time (I bet you don't have that luxury every often..), would you check the AGC and Amph Force HQ behaviour, please?

What I have discovered how it should be and how it seems to work now is:

1. AGC should be able to fully load Amph Force HQ (currently, at least in DaBigBabes, it cannot, shows e.g. V Amph Force HQ/1 when loaded..).
2. AGC should be in same Amphibious TF that is doing the Amphibious assault (fair enough, seems to work).
3. AGC should not unload Amph Force HQ with assault troops (currently it does, interestingly, unit then becomes the mother unit, e.g. V Amph Force HQ).


Some suggestion for solutions:

1. Make Amph Force HQ (and AGC too) effect work when in same HEX, not in same TF. This way one could have it in different TF set to "Do not unload". That would solve this particular problem, but I do not obviously know how much and how difficult coding that would require.

2. Or, make it so that AGC never unloads unless instructed so by player (I think this is less-"elegant" solution..but then I don't know how difficult it'd be to code...).

2. Make it possible for AGC to fully load full Amph Force HQ. This is low priority item and probably best solved by just increasing load capacity of AGC in editor.

Thanks for your continuing support for this great game! We owe you a lot as AE community. Getting out all these beta patches is bit insane....but then..."these are not rational acts, just ones that need to be done"...



< Message edited by Sardaukar -- 5/2/2011 11:41:29 AM >


_____________________________

"To meaningless French Idealism, Liberty, Fraternity and Equality...we answer with German Realism, Infantry, Cavalry and Artillery" -Prince von Bülov, 1870-

Post #: 1
RE: AGC and Amph Force HQ - 5/2/2011 12:35:30 PM   
michaelm


Posts: 8844
Joined: 5/5/2001
From: Sydney, Australia
Status: online
In my standard scenario tests, the AGC did load an Amphib Hq in total, and did not unload unless the base was friendly. Or not in a Amphib TF (IIRC).
The Amphib Hq bonus is based on TF - trying to add it to any TF in the hex might cause problems.



< Message edited by michaelm -- 5/2/2011 2:35:16 PM >


_____________________________

Michael

(in reply to Sardaukar)
Post #: 2
RE: AGC and Amph Force HQ - 5/2/2011 2:33:05 PM   
michaelm


Posts: 8844
Joined: 5/5/2001
From: Sydney, Australia
Status: online
Set up a test.
The Amphib Hq unit (with 180 support) loaded in full on to the AGC.
Amphib Hq did not unload from the AGC while rest of TF hit the beaches.

Test save.
TF created.
Just needs Amphib Hq and some troops to load and destination set for Lunga
It should load the Amphib Hq in toto, and when it arrives at Lunga, unload all bar the Amphib Hq

Attachment (1)

< Message edited by michaelm -- 5/2/2011 2:48:07 PM >


_____________________________

Michael

(in reply to michaelm)
Post #: 3
RE: AGC and Amph Force HQ - 5/2/2011 2:34:49 PM   
michaelm


Posts: 8844
Joined: 5/5/2001
From: Sydney, Australia
Status: online
Check to see if the Amph Force HQ is classed as a Amphib Hq.
Hq type = 31 in the editor.

< Message edited by michaelm -- 5/2/2011 2:38:24 PM >


_____________________________

Michael

(in reply to michaelm)
Post #: 4
RE: AGC and Amph Force HQ - 5/2/2011 2:39:06 PM   
USS America


Posts: 15863
Joined: 10/28/2002
From: Apex, NC, USA
Status: offline
Maybe the size/load cost of the Amph Force HQ in DBB scenario is larger than in stock scenarios.  Is it possible that the unload issue is a direct result of the entire Amp Force HQ not being loaded onto the AGC?


_____________________________

Mike

"Good times will set you free" - Jimmy Buffett

"They need more rum punch" - Me


Artwork by The Amazing Dixie

(in reply to michaelm)
Post #: 5
RE: AGC and Amph Force HQ - 5/2/2011 2:55:03 PM   
michaelm


Posts: 8844
Joined: 5/5/2001
From: Sydney, Australia
Status: online

quote:

ORIGINAL: USS America

Maybe the size/load cost of the Amph Force HQ in DBB scenario is larger than in stock scenarios.  Is it possible that the unload issue is a direct result of the entire Amp Force HQ not being loaded onto the AGC?



I think that it should load the full unit on to the AGC. Don't think that it worries about load costs when loading it.

Unloading just looks at Hq type and on a AGC, and decides not to unload.

Based on the questions, I don't think that the unit has been set up correctly in the editor.
I don't have a copy of DBB to check.

_____________________________

Michael

(in reply to USS America)
Post #: 6
RE: AGC and Amph Force HQ - 5/2/2011 9:41:39 PM   
noguaranteeofsanity


Posts: 257
Joined: 11/24/2009
From: Sydney, Australia
Status: offline
The HQ is set up wrongly in DaBabes, LCU's 155 and 156, III and V Amphibious Force are corps HQs instead of being amphibious HQs.

< Message edited by noguaranteeofsanity -- 5/2/2011 9:43:17 PM >

(in reply to michaelm)
Post #: 7
RE: AGC and Amph Force HQ - 5/2/2011 10:05:47 PM   
witpqs

 

Posts: 14117
Joined: 10/4/2004
From: Argleton
Status: online
IMO, it would be best if the Amphib HQ bonus was shared with all TFs in the hex (which is how I thought it was based upon the old advice in WITP of making the Amphib HQ aboard an AGC be in its own TF).

When it comes to larger invasions in the mid and late game the size limits will prevent using one TF. For example, the LSI and various landing craft numbers really add up. When you are landing multiple divisions plus armored units, combat engineer units, etc. you will easily go over the 100 ship limit.

(in reply to noguaranteeofsanity)
Post #: 8
RE: AGC and Amph Force HQ - 5/3/2011 12:29:09 AM   
Herrbear


Posts: 851
Joined: 7/26/2004
From: Glendora, CA
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: noguaranteeofsanity

The HQ is set up wrongly in DaBabes, LCU's 155 and 156, III and V Amphibious Force are corps HQs instead of being amphibious HQs.


I believe that both of these are set up correctly. The HQ type is 31 which is for Amphib HQ.



(in reply to noguaranteeofsanity)
Post #: 9
RE: AGC and Amph Force HQ - 5/3/2011 12:57:25 AM   
noguaranteeofsanity


Posts: 257
Joined: 11/24/2009
From: Sydney, Australia
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: Herrbear


quote:

ORIGINAL: noguaranteeofsanity

The HQ is set up wrongly in DaBabes, LCU's 155 and 156, III and V Amphibious Force are corps HQs instead of being amphibious HQs.


I believe that both of these are set up correctly. The HQ type is 31 which is for Amphib HQ.




Agree seems to be fixed in latest release, I must of checked an older version. I definitely can remember fixing them up myself in one of the earlier releases.

(in reply to Herrbear)
Post #: 10
RE: AGC and Amph Force HQ - 5/3/2011 8:42:19 AM   
Sardaukar


Posts: 5785
Joined: 11/28/2001
From: Finland/now in Israel
Status: offline
Thanks a lot for checking this! 

_____________________________

"To meaningless French Idealism, Liberty, Fraternity and Equality...we answer with German Realism, Infantry, Cavalry and Artillery" -Prince von Bülov, 1870-


(in reply to noguaranteeofsanity)
Post #: 11
RE: AGC and Amph Force HQ - 5/8/2011 5:26:13 AM   
michaelm


Posts: 8844
Joined: 5/5/2001
From: Sydney, Australia
Status: online

quote:

ORIGINAL: witpqs

IMO, it would be best if the Amphib HQ bonus was shared with all TFs in the hex (which is how I thought it was based upon the old advice in WITP of making the Amphib HQ aboard an AGC be in its own TF).

When it comes to larger invasions in the mid and late game the size limits will prevent using one TF. For example, the LSI and various landing craft numbers really add up. When you are landing multiple divisions plus armored units, combat engineer units, etc. you will easily go over the 100 ship limit.


The Amphib HQ bonus applies to the hex. However the TF with the AGC will get an additional bonus for itself, even if it isn't carrying an Amphib HQ (AGC has the command and control ability. However, loading a non-amphHq will be constrained by normal loading limits).

_____________________________

Michael

(in reply to witpqs)
Post #: 12
RE: AGC and Amph Force HQ - 5/8/2011 5:36:43 AM   
witpqs

 

Posts: 14117
Joined: 10/4/2004
From: Argleton
Status: online
Wow, that's news! Makes sense now why there are several more AGCs than Force HQs. Thanks!

(in reply to michaelm)
Post #: 13
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition >> Tech Support >> AGC and Amph Force HQ Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.076