Action Cards

The team behind the award-winning game Advanced Tactics is back with a new and improved game engine that focuses on the decisive early days of World War II! Decisive Campaigns: The Blitzkrieg from Warsaw to Paris is the first in an innovative series of operational World War II wargames that also include a strategic element. The Blitzkrieg from Warsaw to Paris simulates Germany’s military successes in Poland and France in 1939 and 1940 (including also a hypothetical “Sea Lion” invasion of Great Britain).

Moderator: Vic

RocketMan

Action Cards

Post by RocketMan »

First of all Vic, let me say that I really enjoy the game. I have been playing computer games for over 30 years and I have bought many games that I haven’t gotten as many hours of enjoyment out of as this one.

The Action Cards are a great idea and they remind me of something Sid Meyer once said about game design: “Give the players interesting choices.” When to play the action cards and what units to use them on definitely provide some interesting choices.

However, as with all games, I feel there is room for improvement in how the action cards are played. I find it difficult to know when a card is available to be played and it breaks the flow of the game having to hunt down if a card is available.

For instance, to know if a card is available, I click on a unit then click on the HQ under the unit name to get to that HQ. If there is no card at that HQ, I click on the next HQ to check for a card and then the next HQ. If there is a card available, I pick play card and then have to find the unit on the pop-up window that comes up and then hunt the unit back down on the map. In fact this procedure is so tedious I frequently find myself forgetting to even look to see if I have Action Cards available.