Matrix Games Forums

War in the West gets its first update!Flashpoint Campaigns: Red Storm version 2.08 is now available!Command gets huge update!Order of Battle: Pacific Featured on Weekly Streaming SessionA new fight for Battle Academy!Buzz Aldrin's Space Program Manager is out for Mac!The definitive wargame of the Western Front is out now! War in the West gets teaser trailer and Twitch Stream!New Preview AAR for War in the West!War in the West Manual preview
Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Bridge-building Bug??

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> John Tiller's Campaign Series >> Bridge-building Bug?? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Bridge-building Bug?? - 2/2/2010 7:07:23 PM   
TJD

 

Posts: 246
Joined: 1/6/2008
Status: offline
Jason: there seems to be a bug with bridge building. If you use regular engineers to first build a light bridge, and then use a specialized bridging enginner to construct a second, vehicular bridge over it in the same hex, the program will not recognize the second bridge. It will persist in thinking only a foot bridge is in place and vehicles will not be able to cross.

I encountered this bug when testing Bart Gauvin's 3rd Pz LCG and then tested it in the Bridge Building bootcamp scenario you designed. I ran through it twice, building first a foot bridge and then a vehicle bridge in the same hex. Same result both times. I can send you the file.

Tim



Post #: 1
RE: Bridge-building Bug?? - 2/2/2010 7:31:34 PM   
Jason Petho


Posts: 5440
Joined: 6/22/2004
From: Calgary, AB, Canada
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: TJD

Jason: there seems to be a bug with bridge building. If you use regular engineers to first build a light bridge, and then use a specialized bridging enginner to construct a second, vehicular bridge over it in the same hex, the program will not recognize the second bridge. It will persist in thinking only a foot bridge is in place and vehicles will not be able to cross.

I encountered this bug when testing Bart Gauvin's 3rd Pz LCG and then tested it in the Bridge Building bootcamp scenario you designed. I ran through it twice, building first a foot bridge and then a vehicle bridge in the same hex. Same result both times. I can send you the file.

Tim



It isn't necessary to build a light bridge first, so building a medium bridge on top of a light bridge doesn't gain any advantages.

You can build a medium bridge using your bridging engineers over an empty hexside.

Jason Petho



_____________________________

Petho Cartography

Mapping Military History

(in reply to TJD)
Post #: 2
RE: Bridge-building Bug?? - 2/2/2010 7:42:31 PM   
TJD

 

Posts: 246
Joined: 1/6/2008
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Jason Petho


It isn't necessary to build a light bridge first, so building a medium bridge on top of a light bridge doesn't gain any advantages.

You can build a medium bridge using your bridging engineers over an empty hexside.

Jason Petho




I'm perfectly aware that it isn't necessary to build the light bridge first. But sometimes you want to get your infantry over the river first, and the hex used may be a very good one later on for vehicles as well.

It's a bug and it should be fixed. The larger bridge should be recognized by the program.

Tim

(in reply to Jason Petho)
Post #: 3
RE: Bridge-building Bug?? - 2/2/2010 8:06:53 PM   
Jason Petho


Posts: 5440
Joined: 6/22/2004
From: Calgary, AB, Canada
Status: offline
It should at least give you a warning you cannot do it or not allow you to.

Jason Petho

_____________________________

Petho Cartography

Mapping Military History

(in reply to TJD)
Post #: 4
RE: Bridge-building Bug?? - 2/2/2010 8:38:09 PM   
TJD

 

Posts: 246
Joined: 1/6/2008
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Jason Petho

It should at least give you a warning you cannot do it or not allow you to.

Jason Petho


I'm not sure I understand. An alert of some kind would have been welcome but it's hard to see why the program should regard "double-bridging" as impossible (and it clearly doesn't). In reality I think it was often the case that larger bridges were later constructed where smaller ones had first been laid. And given the scale of the game it's certainly within bounds. I mean, it's quite easy to imagine a situation where for terrain and tactical reasons it's desirable to put down first a quick footbridge and then a vehicle bridge in the same hex. Good bridging spots are not always plentiful. I did this very thing on 4 separate spots over the Bug, only to find I couldn't get the tanks over.

But you raise another good point, that it would be nice if the program gave better feedback on all specialized engineering functions, whether bridge-building or demolitions. An info box would be really appreciated. I would definitely put that on the wish-list.

Tim


(in reply to Jason Petho)
Post #: 5
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> John Tiller's Campaign Series >> Bridge-building Bug?? Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.066