Matrix Games Forums

To End All Wars: Mountain InfantryPandora: Eclipse of Nashira Announced! Deal of the Week: Command Ops goes half price!New Fronts are opening up for Commander: The Great WarCharacters of World War 1Sign of for the Pike and Shot Beta!More Games are Coming to Steam! Return to the Moon on October 31st! Commander: The Great War iPad Wallpapers Generals of the Great War
Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

RE: A few questions about the rules

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> RE: A few questions about the rules Page: <<   < prev  3 4 5 [6] 7   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RE: A few questions about the rules - 3/25/2011 10:24:36 PM   
paulderynck


Posts: 4090
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets
Along these same lines,

If a unit stops in a sea area - section box 1- to fight through, and then survives the combat, it can stop in the sea area either in section box 1, or can move to a different section box if it has sufficient movement points. E.g., for a unit with 6 MPS that is intercepted as soon as it leaves port: 1 MP to enter the sea area + 1 MP for stopping to fight through, leaves 4 MPs. It could then be placed as high as the 4 box. But it would have only used 1 range.

Correct? [This is how it is coded presently.]

Correct. range allowance is only decremented when you enter a different sea zone or a port.

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to Shannon V. OKeets)
Post #: 151
RE: A few questions about the rules - 3/31/2011 8:49:33 PM   
Ur_Vile_WEdge

 

Posts: 460
Joined: 6/28/2005
Status: offline
I have a pair of questions, I think applicable to both tabletop wif and MWIF.



1st, regarding City Based Volunteers. When they're first built, they're free and do not count against gearing. But do they count for gearing for future turn builds? Say on the first turn, I as Germany build no INF class units besides that free Vienna Mil. for Nov/Dec 39, can I build 2 inf class guys or only one?


2nd, if there are multiple attacks during an impulse who determines what order they are to be carried out in? This could have some impact where the Chinese warlords are concerned, or a lot if you want to see how possible retreats and breakthroughs from one attack might affect how you do things in the next one.

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 152
RE: A few questions about the rules - 3/31/2011 9:32:22 PM   
michaelbaldur


Posts: 3682
Joined: 4/6/2007
From: denmark
Status: offline
quote:

2nd, if there are multiple attacks during an impulse who determines what order they are to be carried out in? This could have some impact where the Chinese warlords are concerned, or a lot if you want to see how possible retreats and breakthroughs from one attack might affect how you do things in the next one.


you are right there are noting in the rules on who chooses.. IN what order to resolve the attacks ..

but I would assume it would be the attacker ...


< Message edited by michaelbaldur -- 3/31/2011 9:34:53 PM >


_____________________________

Peyton manning is a God and the wif rulebook is my bible

I work hard, not smart.

beta tester and Mwif expert

(in reply to Ur_Vile_WEdge)
Post #: 153
RE: A few questions about the rules - 3/31/2011 9:35:48 PM   
michaelbaldur


Posts: 3682
Joined: 4/6/2007
From: denmark
Status: offline
quote:

2nd, if there are multiple attacks during an impulse who determines what order they are to be carried out in? This could have some impact where the Chinese warlords are concerned, or a lot if you want to see how possible retreats and breakthroughs from one attack might affect how you do things in the next one.


they are totally outside of gearing the first time they are build


_____________________________

Peyton manning is a God and the wif rulebook is my bible

I work hard, not smart.

beta tester and Mwif expert

(in reply to michaelbaldur)
Post #: 154
RE: A few questions about the rules - 3/31/2011 10:20:40 PM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 18187
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: online

quote:

ORIGINAL: Ur_Vile_WEdge

I have a pair of questions, I think applicable to both tabletop wif and MWIF.



1st, regarding City Based Volunteers. When they're first built, they're free and do not count against gearing. But do they count for gearing for future turn builds? Say on the first turn, I as Germany build no INF class units besides that free Vienna Mil. for Nov/Dec 39, can I build 2 inf class guys or only one?


2nd, if there are multiple attacks during an impulse who determines what order they are to be carried out in? This could have some impact where the Chinese warlords are concerned, or a lot if you want to see how possible retreats and breakthroughs from one attack might affect how you do things in the next one.


Unless you can find a rule that specifically says CBV units do not count against gearing limits, they do.

MWIF determines which attacking major power has the most units involved in land attacks and then let's the player controlling that major power decide on the order of the land attacks.

_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to Ur_Vile_WEdge)
Post #: 155
RE: A few questions about the rules - 3/31/2011 10:53:53 PM   
michaelbaldur


Posts: 3682
Joined: 4/6/2007
From: denmark
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets


quote:

ORIGINAL: Ur_Vile_WEdge

I have a pair of questions, I think applicable to both tabletop wif and MWIF.



1st, regarding City Based Volunteers. When they're first built, they're free and do not count against gearing. But do they count for gearing for future turn builds? Say on the first turn, I as Germany build no INF class units besides that free Vienna Mil. for Nov/Dec 39, can I build 2 inf class guys or only one?


2nd, if there are multiple attacks during an impulse who determines what order they are to be carried out in? This could have some impact where the Chinese warlords are concerned, or a lot if you want to see how possible retreats and breakthroughs from one attack might affect how you do things in the next one.


Unless you can find a rule that specifically says CBV units do not count against gearing limits, they do.

MWIF determines which attacking major power has the most units involved in land attacks and then let's the player controlling that major power decide on the order of the land attacks.



22.4.8 City based volunteers (AfA, AiF, LiF& PoliF option 67)
There are several units with the name of a city printed on their back in Africa Aflame, America in Flames, Leaders in Flames and Politics in Flames. These counters represent volunteers who fought or potentially would have fought for the major power whose background colour the counters share. As examples, Vlassov was a successful Soviet general who defected to the Germans after his capture, the SS recruited personnel from the occupied areas and Japan used some Chinese and potentially would have used some Indians or Siberians as well.
These units become available to the respective major power when their home city is controlled by it. During any production step while this city is controlled, that major power may place that unit onto the production circle as if built that turn. They are free the first time they are purchased and do not count for gearing limits. They arrive as reinforcements in their home city.
City based volunteers that arrive in cities in an aligned minor country, are units of that minor county. All other volunteers are major power units


_____________________________

Peyton manning is a God and the wif rulebook is my bible

I work hard, not smart.

beta tester and Mwif expert

(in reply to Shannon V. OKeets)
Post #: 156
RE: A few questions about the rules - 3/31/2011 11:55:06 PM   
Orm


Posts: 5688
Joined: 5/3/2008
From: Sweden
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: Ur_Vile_WEdge

I have a pair of questions, I think applicable to both tabletop wif and MWIF.



1st, regarding City Based Volunteers. When they're first built, they're free and do not count against gearing. But do they count for gearing for future turn builds? Say on the first turn, I as Germany build no INF class units besides that free Vienna Mil. for Nov/Dec 39, can I build 2 inf class guys or only one?


2nd, if there are multiple attacks during an impulse who determines what order they are to be carried out in? This could have some impact where the Chinese warlords are concerned, or a lot if you want to see how possible retreats and breakthroughs from one attack might affect how you do things in the next one.


2) The attacker decide the order of combat resolution.

Cut from RAW 11.16 Land combat
After you have finished any paradrops, your land units can attack enemy
land units they are adjacent to. Combat is not compulsory (except if you
are invading or paradropping).
The land combat sequence is:
1. declare all attacks, (the defender then announces whether any
notional units are to be ignored);
2. add defensive shore bombardment (option 38);
3. add offensive shore bombardment;
4. announce defensive HQ support (option 13);
5. announce offensive HQ support;
6. fl y and resolve ground support missions;
7. resolve HQ support;
8. the combats are then resolved one by one (attacker choosing the
order of combat resolution)
.



_____________________________

Belli dura despicio

(in reply to Ur_Vile_WEdge)
Post #: 157
RE: A few questions about the rules - 4/11/2011 4:19:13 PM   
Ur_Vile_WEdge

 

Posts: 460
Joined: 6/28/2005
Status: offline
Thanks guys :)

(in reply to Orm)
Post #: 158
Albania Notional Unit Supply - 7/29/2011 3:01:21 PM   
gridley

 

Posts: 123
Joined: 10/2/2006
From: Caledon
Status: offline
So here is the situation;

CW Controls the Italian Coast Sea Zone...No Italian air or Navy. Tirana can not trace a line of supply to a Primary supply source.

The CW wants to invade Albania.

Italian units would be out of supply in Albania.

My question is would notional units be out of supply as well?

Thanks for your help.



(in reply to Ur_Vile_WEdge)
Post #: 159
RE: Albania Notional Unit Supply - 7/29/2011 4:28:12 PM   
composer99


Posts: 2137
Joined: 6/6/2005
From: Ottawa, Canada
Status: offline
gridley: It is my understanding that, per the rules, notional units for aligned minor countries (such as Albania in WiF) are units of their own nationality.

So an Albanian notional unit remains in supply.

_____________________________

~ Composer99

(in reply to gridley)
Post #: 160
RE: Albania Notional Unit Supply - 7/29/2011 4:56:28 PM   
gridley

 

Posts: 123
Joined: 10/2/2006
From: Caledon
Status: offline
Seeing as I'm the CW that was not the answer I was looking for...any better answers out there.

If Albania was a conqured minor the notional would be out of supply???

Anyway, thanks for the response Christopher...hope you and your group are doing well.


(in reply to composer99)
Post #: 161
RE: Albania Notional Unit Supply - 7/29/2011 5:04:42 PM   
composer99


Posts: 2137
Joined: 6/6/2005
From: Ottawa, Canada
Status: offline
I have checked the actual rules (rather than relying on my less-than-ideal memory).

The rules state:
quote:

Each hex defends against an invasion with a notional land unit, in addition to any actual land unit in the hex. The notional unit is the same nationality as any major power or minor country with a real unit in the hex (owner’s choice if more than one). If there are no real units, it is the same nationality as the major power or minor country that controls the hex.


So if you are landing in a hex with an Italian unit, the notional is also Italian and is hence out of supply. If you are landing on an otherwise empty hex, the notional would be controlled by the major power or minor country controlling the hex, which per the Scenario booklet rules for Global War is Albania as an aligned minor:
quote:

Control: As specified on the map except that:
[...]
Italy is aligned with Albania and has conquered Ethiopia; and [...]


You are correct in inferring that the notional in empty hexes would be Italian (and hence out of supply) if Albania was instead a conquered minor.

_____________________________

~ Composer99

(in reply to gridley)
Post #: 162
RE: Albania Notional Unit Supply - 7/29/2011 5:44:15 PM   
gridley

 

Posts: 123
Joined: 10/2/2006
From: Caledon
Status: offline

quote:

Control: As specified on the map except that:
[...]
Italy is aligned with Albania and has conquered Ethiopia; and [...]


This is the rule I missed.

So many rules in so many places...

(in reply to composer99)
Post #: 163
RE: Albania Notional Unit Supply - 7/29/2011 6:23:59 PM   
micheljq


Posts: 661
Joined: 3/31/2008
From: Quebec
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: gridley

This is the rule I missed.

So many rules in so many places...


Bleh! this one was not evident for me as well.


_____________________________

Michel Desjardins,
"Patriotism is a virtue of the vicious" - Oscar Wilde
"History is a set of lies agreed upon" - Napoleon Bonaparte after the battle of Waterloo, june 18th, 1815

(in reply to gridley)
Post #: 164
RE: A few questions about the rules - 12/28/2011 6:08:43 PM   
brian brian

 

Posts: 1640
Joined: 11/16/2005
Status: online

quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck


quote:

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets
Along these same lines,

If a unit stops in a sea area - section box 1- to fight through, and then survives the combat, it can stop in the sea area either in section box 1, or can move to a different section box if it has sufficient movement points. E.g., for a unit with 6 MPS that is intercepted as soon as it leaves port: 1 MP to enter the sea area + 1 MP for stopping to fight through, leaves 4 MPs. It could then be placed as high as the 4 box. But it would have only used 1 range.

Correct? [This is how it is coded presently.]

Correct. range allowance is only decremented when you enter a different sea zone or a port.



OK so I am playing conservatively like I learned playing World in Flames and I'm battling a cold by staying at home and not out at a jobsite. I dusted the electronic dust off a solitaire game and came up with a rules question and looked around for this thread.

First I found this message from the top of this page....which is related to my question, but different than how we have played interceptions, but I think Steve just used the 1 box as an example there....you could fight through from the 0 box and only have paid 1 total movement point after the interception combat is over. ?


My question is about moving task forces at sea. Can two task forces sailing from different ports combine at sea before entering a more distant sea zone, all together in one task force? The rules are not explicit on it that I can see, but perhaps shade towards a "no". ? I could also see this being a headache to program. I hope they can though; we have always played that way and I think in real life things would be done that way, but in the interests of expediency I hope whatever solution is already used to move naval units is kept as-is.

Here is the game situation where it came up: the CW wants to send land units to help the Russians hold Murmansk. The loaded TRS sail from Liverpool where reinforcements were just put down. The Home Fleet is based at Scapa Flow and wants to escort them through the Norwegian Sea, where the Kriegsmarine has a task force waiting, and on to the Arctic Ocean. The units from Liverpool and Scapa combine in the 0 box of the Faeroes Gap and proceed. I hope.

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 165
RE: A few questions about the rules - 12/28/2011 6:45:32 PM   
warspite1


Posts: 17203
Joined: 2/2/2008
From: England
Status: online

quote:

ORIGINAL: brian brian


quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck


quote:

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets
Along these same lines,

If a unit stops in a sea area - section box 1- to fight through, and then survives the combat, it can stop in the sea area either in section box 1, or can move to a different section box if it has sufficient movement points. E.g., for a unit with 6 MPS that is intercepted as soon as it leaves port: 1 MP to enter the sea area + 1 MP for stopping to fight through, leaves 4 MPs. It could then be placed as high as the 4 box. But it would have only used 1 range.

Correct? [This is how it is coded presently.]

Correct. range allowance is only decremented when you enter a different sea zone or a port.



OK so I am playing conservatively like I learned playing World in Flames and I'm battling a cold by staying at home and not out at a jobsite. I dusted the electronic dust off a solitaire game and came up with a rules question and looked around for this thread.

First I found this message from the top of this page....which is related to my question, but different than how we have played interceptions, but I think Steve just used the 1 box as an example there....you could fight through from the 0 box and only have paid 1 total movement point after the interception combat is over. ?


My question is about moving task forces at sea. Can two task forces sailing from different ports combine at sea before entering a more distant sea zone, all together in one task force? The rules are not explicit on it that I can see, but perhaps shade towards a "no". ? I could also see this being a headache to program. I hope they can though; we have always played that way and I think in real life things would be done that way, but in the interests of expediency I hope whatever solution is already used to move naval units is kept as-is.

Here is the game situation where it came up: the CW wants to send land units to help the Russians hold Murmansk. The loaded TRS sail from Liverpool where reinforcements were just put down. The Home Fleet is based at Scapa Flow and wants to escort them through the Norwegian Sea, where the Kriegsmarine has a task force waiting, and on to the Arctic Ocean. The units from Liverpool and Scapa combine in the 0 box of the Faeroes Gap and proceed. I hope.
Warspite1

That is the way we always played it - but I could not point you to the rule that said we could.


_____________________________

England expects that every man will do his duty - Horatio Nelson 1805.




(in reply to brian brian)
Post #: 166
RE: A few questions about the rules - 12/28/2011 6:52:36 PM   
Froonp


Posts: 7895
Joined: 10/21/2003
From: Marseilles, France
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: brian brian
My question is about moving task forces at sea. Can two task forces sailing from different ports combine at sea before entering a more distant sea zone, all together in one task force? The rules are not explicit on it that I can see, but perhaps shade towards a "no". ?

This is not possible.
Ships from different ports can't "merge" in a single fleet at sea and keep on going as a single fleet.
The only way to have such a "merge" to happen is for multiple fleets to sail from multiple ports to the same sea area sea box, and patrol there.
Then on their next impulse, they all return to base to the same base.

< Message edited by Froonp -- 12/28/2011 6:53:01 PM >

(in reply to brian brian)
Post #: 167
RE: A few questions about the rules - 12/28/2011 7:09:33 PM   
warspite1


Posts: 17203
Joined: 2/2/2008
From: England
Status: online
Well there's another rule we mucked up

_____________________________

England expects that every man will do his duty - Horatio Nelson 1805.




(in reply to Froonp)
Post #: 168
RE: A few questions about the rules - 12/28/2011 10:09:43 PM   
Orm


Posts: 5688
Joined: 5/3/2008
From: Sweden
Status: offline
And here is the relevant rule.

11.4.2 Moving naval units
....
You can move your naval units individually or in a group. To move naval units in a group, they must all start
in the same port or sea-box section.

You can split a moving group of naval units in any sea area or port it passes through. Each time you split a
group of naval units from the main force, you use a separate naval move (exception: groups of SUB ~ see 11.4.1).
The group of naval units you split off can’t move any further.

_____________________________

Belli dura despicio

(in reply to warspite1)
Post #: 169
RE: A few questions about the rules - 12/30/2011 8:16:40 PM   
brian brian

 

Posts: 1640
Joined: 11/16/2005
Status: online
Well paying WiF can be so Clinton-esque - "It depends on what your definition of is is". In this case the word "start". Start where? The impulse? The moment in time where each task force has spent one movement and range point each? I have definitely played this one wrong, but it doesn't concern me that much, and would allow an opponent to do the same, as I feel real navies could easily accomplish having a convoy sail from one port and it's escort forces from another (and did regularly from Rosyth and Scapa actually, only a solid day or so of sailing in distance from each other). So bending the use of the word 'start' here doesn't feel like too much lawyerly rules stretching. But the rules are the rules, and MWiF need not concern itself with this.


Edit: I meant to write Start _when_ ?

< Message edited by brian brian -- 12/30/2011 8:19:03 PM >

(in reply to Orm)
Post #: 170
RE: A few questions about the rules - 7/26/2012 11:47:34 PM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 18187
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: online
I have been working on the code for damaging/repairing factories, which was somewhat confused. The rules themselves are scattered in different sections of RAW so I took the time to write them out clearly for myself as "program specifications", so I could bring the code into alignment with same. Here's what I ended up with after several hours of labor:
===
// ****************************************************************************
// Class TFactoryHex.
//
// A TFactoryHex can contain up to 3 factories. The factories in the hex are
// differentiated using an index (0-2). Printed factories are designated
// Permanent internally. Red factories are always first in the list followed by
// Blue and then Green.
//
// Most Green factories are those that have been newly built (i.e., they are not
// Permanent). However, when a Blue factory moves to a different city, it is
// treated as being equivalent to a Green factory.
//
// When control of a factory hex changes sides, there are 2 possibilities:
// (1) the factories are 'Captured' by the enemy, or
// (2) the factories are 'Recaptured' by the side that originally controlled it.
// For instance, Germany occupying Lille 'Captures' the factories in the hex;
// while if the Allies later occupy Lille, then they 'Recapture' the factories.
//
// If the optional rule FactoryConstruction is not being used, then Red
// Factories are immediately usable by the new owner (both when Captured and
// Recaptured). Blue factories are not usable when Captured, but are
// immediately usable when Recaptured.
//
// The differences between Blue and Green factories are few:
// (1) Blue factories can be moved to a new location under certain conditions;
// Green factories can never be moved.
// (2) Blue factories that are 'destroyed' are merely Damaged, and moved to the
// Repair Pool, while 'destroyed' Green factories are removed from the game.
//
// Factories can only be destroyed if playing with the optional rule
// FactoryConstruction (which includes rules for factory destruction). Note
// well that the following paragraphs about destroying, damaging, and repairing
// factories only apply if the optional rule FactoryConstruction is being used.
//
// There are 3 ways in which a factory can be 'destroyed':
// (1) By strategic bombing,
// (2) Control of a factory hex changes sides, and
// (3) During the Factory Destruction phase if a major power chooses to destroy
// a factory using one of its land units that occupies the hex.
//
// Red factories are immediately damaged when they are Captured or Recaptured.
// Blue and green factories, on the other hand, merely become unusable when
// Captured; when Recaptured, they become immedaitely usable.
//
// If a Blue factory is 'destroyed', then it becomes damaged and moves to the
// Repair Pool. If a Green factory is 'destroyed', it is removed from the game.
//
// Repair of a damaged factory in the Repair Pool is initiated during the
// Production phase by spending build points to repair the factory. The factory
// then arrives as a future 'reinforcement'. In actuality, the factory simply
// changes from damaged to usable.
//
// If using the optional rule ConstructionEngineers, then an engineer unit must
// be in the factory's hex during the Production phase in order to spend build
// points to repair the factory.
//
// +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
// Code Implementation for damaging and repairing factories.
// +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
// A factory typically has no associated unit counter. Instead, the factory is
// displayed as an icon in the hex. For example, this is true for all Permanent
// (Printed) factories.
//
// Building a new factory causes a temporary New Factory unit to appear in a
// Production Pool. Once the factory arrives as a 'reinforcement', the New
// Factory unit is removed from the game and the factory icon for its arrival
// hex is modified to display a new Green factory.
//
// 'Destroying' a Red or Blue factory during strategic bombing causes a Damaged
// Factory unit to be created and placed in the Repair Pool. Destroyed Green
// factories are simply removed from the game.
//
// When a factory hex is Captured, a Damaged Factory unit is created for each
// undamaged factory in the hex. These units are placed in either the Repair
// Pool or the Reserve Pool. In the latter case the factory is not actually
// damaged, but marked as such for coding convenience. Red factories are
// damaged and placed in the Repair Pool. Blue and Green factories (undamaged)
// are placed in the Reserve Pool.
//
// When a factory hex is Recaptured, a Damaged Factory unit is created for each
// undamaged Red factory in the hex. For each undamaged Blue and Green factory,
// there should be a Damaged Factory unit in the Reserve Pool. That unit is
// removed from the game and the corresponding Blue/Green factory immediately
// becomes usable by the original owner.
//
// Capturing or Recapturing a factory hex containing damaged factories does not
// affect the damaged factories, unless they are in the process of being
// repaired. If they are being repaired, then that process is aborted and the
// damaged factory units return to the Repair Pool.
//
// If during the Factory Destruction phase a Blue factory is destroyed, its
// Damaged Factory unit in the Reserve Pool is moved into the Repair Pool.
// Destroying a Green factory causes its Damaged Factory unit in the Reserve
// Pool to be removed from the game.
//
// During the Production phase, a player may repair his damaged factories by
// spending build points. If using the optional rule ConstructionEngineers,
// then an engineer unit must be in the factory's hex. The Damaged Factory unit
// for the repaired factory is moved from the Repair Pool to a Production Pool
// to arrive as a reinforcement. Upon arrival, the Damaged Factory unit is
// removed from the game and the factory is shown as usable on the map (and in
// the Production Planning form).
// ****************************************************************************


_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to brian brian)
Post #: 171
RE: A few questions about the rules - 7/27/2012 12:47:39 AM   
Orm


Posts: 5688
Joined: 5/3/2008
From: Sweden
Status: offline
quote:

// A TFactoryHex can contain up to 3 factories. The factories in the hex are
// differentiated using an index (0-2). Printed factories are designated
// Permanent internally. Red factories are always first in the list followed by
// Blue and then Green.

Note that you can never end with more than 2 blue (should be blue and/or green in MWIF) factories in one city.

See 11.10 and 22.2

_____________________________

Belli dura despicio

(in reply to Shannon V. OKeets)
Post #: 172
RE: A few questions about the rules - 7/27/2012 1:00:35 AM   
Orm


Posts: 5688
Joined: 5/3/2008
From: Sweden
Status: offline
quote:

// Red factories are immediately damaged when they are Captured or Recaptured.

I am not sure this is correct. A red factory is always available for production at once after you capture or recapture it unless you play with construction engineers.

Edit: As I understand it a factory is never destroyed by just capturing the factory hex. It must be destroyed by strategic bombardment or actively by a land unit in the factory hex if the conditions allow it. See 22.2.

< Message edited by Orm -- 7/27/2012 1:09:01 AM >


_____________________________

Belli dura despicio

(in reply to Shannon V. OKeets)
Post #: 173
RE: A few questions about the rules - 7/27/2012 1:30:40 AM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 18187
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: online

quote:

ORIGINAL: Orm

quote:

// Red factories are immediately damaged when they are Captured or Recaptured.

I am not sure this is correct. A red factory is always available for production at once after you capture or recapture it unless you play with construction engineers.

Edit: As I understand it a factory is never destroyed by just capturing the factory hex. It must be destroyed by strategic bombardment or actively by a land unit in the factory hex if the conditions allow it. See 22.2.

A preceding paragraph stated:
// Factories can only be destroyed if playing with the optional rule
// FactoryConstruction (which includes rules for factory destruction). Note
// well that the following paragraphs about destroying, damaging, and repairing
// factories only apply if the optional rule FactoryConstruction is being used.

---

As for your edit comment, RAW uses the word Destroyed, which would not have been my choice. It makes it difficult to discuss the rules because in most cases destroyed actually means damaged. Only in the case of Green factories does destroyed mean to remove the factory from the game completely.

_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to Orm)
Post #: 174
RE: A few questions about the rules - 7/27/2012 1:32:48 AM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 18187
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: online

quote:

ORIGINAL: Orm

quote:

// Red factories are immediately damaged when they are Captured or Recaptured.

I am not sure this is correct. A red factory is always available for production at once after you capture or recapture it unless you play with construction engineers.

Edit: As I understand it a factory is never destroyed by just capturing the factory hex. It must be destroyed by strategic bombardment or actively by a land unit in the factory hex if the conditions allow it. See 22.2.

A preceding paragraph stated:
// Factories can only be destroyed if playing with the optional rule
// FactoryConstruction (which includes rules for factory destruction). Note
// well that the following paragraphs about destroying, damaging, and repairing
// factories only apply if the optional rule FactoryConstruction is being used.

---

As for your edit comment, RAW uses the word Destroyed, which would not have been my choice. It makes it difficult to discuss the rules because in most cases destroyed actually means damaged. Only in the case of Green factories does destroyed mean to remove the factory from the game completely.

_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to Orm)
Post #: 175
RE: A few questions about the rules - 7/27/2012 1:48:29 AM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 18187
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: online
Orm,

Having just read through all those various rules again, you may be right. The damage to the red factories only occurs by mere occupation of the hex if the optional rule for construction engineers is in use.

_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to Shannon V. OKeets)
Post #: 176
RE: A few questions about the rules - 7/27/2012 4:21:29 PM   
micheljq


Posts: 661
Joined: 3/31/2008
From: Quebec
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets

The rules themselves are scattered in different sections of RAW


You don't tell me , this is my main grievance against WiF rules book.

This is the case for a lot of rules in WiF.

By the way : sorry for your health, wish you better (sorry for my english).


< Message edited by micheljq -- 7/27/2012 4:23:03 PM >


_____________________________

Michel Desjardins,
"Patriotism is a virtue of the vicious" - Oscar Wilde
"History is a set of lies agreed upon" - Napoleon Bonaparte after the battle of Waterloo, june 18th, 1815

(in reply to Shannon V. OKeets)
Post #: 177
RE: A few questions about the rules - 7/27/2012 10:02:10 PM   
paulderynck


Posts: 4090
Joined: 3/24/2007
From: Canada
Status: offline
Other things to cover for factories:

1. What happens to red factories that change ownership but are not occupied by the enemy. FREX Italy is conquered but has two red factories that become German controlled - if playing with Construction Engineers, do they have to be repaired? (We play: No). Another example: Vichy is collapsed - what happens with the Axis trying to use the red factory in Lyons? (We play: It needs to be repaired if playing with Construction Engineers.) OTOH if France is liberated by the Allies and Vichy disappears, should the Allies have to repair Lyons - a> if Vichy was neutral or B> if Vichy was at war with the Allies. (We play: a> No or b> Yes). I can't recall anything in the rules or FAQ that is definitive on these. Our decisions are based on whether the factory can be viewed as having "changed sides" in which case we expect 5th columnists to have sufficiently messed with the infrastruture of the country.

2. Per RAW, blue factories are useable by the country that controlled them in 1939. This means incompletely conquered countries can have blue factory hexes reverted to them inside their original home country and then produce with them. FREX Italy might still produce with a reverted Trieste even though their new home country is now Estonia.

3. A blue factory may only be destroyed by ground units if enemy units - including partisans - are in the country. This can cause weird situations, FREX the Germans can't destroy blue factories in Occupied France after declaring Vichy until the Allies invade or until a French partisan shows up and is still alive at the end of the turn. So for China we always agree that all blue factories controlled by Japan at the start of the Global War scenario are all already destroyed - just so we aren't distracted by the trivialities of having to check if the occupying units are in supply (which is reqiuired for destroying things apparently) and announcing it.

_____________________________

Paul

(in reply to micheljq)
Post #: 178
RE: A few questions about the rules - 7/27/2012 10:24:41 PM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 18187
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: online
Here is my revised in-line code comments for factories. It corrects the mistake that Orm identified in my post yesterday. I have also expanded the text to include New and Moving factories.
===
// ****************************************************************************
// Class TFactoryHex.
//
// A TFactoryHex can contain up to 3 factories. The factories in the hex are
// differentiated using an index (0-2). Red factories are always listed first
// followed by Blue and then Green. Printed factories are designated Permanent
// internally.
//
// Most Green factories are those that were newly built (i.e., they are not
// Permanent). However, when a Blue factory moves to a different city, it is
// treated as being equivalent to a Green factory.
//
// The differences between Blue and Green factories are few:
// (1) Blue factories can be moved to a new location under certain conditions;
// Green factories can never be moved.
// (2) Blue factories that are 'destroyed' are merely Damaged, and moved to the
// Repair Pool, while 'destroyed' Green factories are removed from the game.
//
// Factories can only be 'destroyed' if playing with the optional rule
// FactoryConstruction (which includes rules for factory destruction). Note
// well that the following paragraphs about destroying, damaging, and repairing
// factories only apply if the optional rule FactoryConstruction is being used.
//
// There are 3 ways in which a factory can be 'destroyed':
// (1) By strategic bombing,
// (2) Control of a red factory changes sides (when using the optional rule
// ConstructionEngineers as described in Code Implementation below), and
// (3) During the Factory Destruction phase when a major power chooses to
// destroy a Blue or Green factory using one of its land units that occupies
// the hex.
//
// If a Red or Blue factory is 'destroyed', by any means, then it becomes
// damaged and a unit representing the damaged factory is placed in the Repair
// Pool. If a Green factory is 'destroyed', it is removed from the game.
//
// Repair of a damaged factory in the Repair Pool is initiated during the
// Production phase by spending build points to repair the factory. The factory
// then arrives as a future 'reinforcement'. In actuality, upon arrival the
// factory simply changes from damaged to usable.
//
// If using the optional rule ConstructionEngineers, then an engineer unit must
// be in the factory's hex during the Production phase in order to spend build
// points to repair the factory.
//
// ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
// Code Implementation for factories.
// ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
// A factory typically has no associated unit counter. Instead, the factory is
// displayed as an icon in the hex. For example, this is true for all Permanent
// (Printed) factories. Temporary factory units are created under four
// circumstances:
// (1) when a new factory is built,
// (2) when a factory is being moved,
// (3) when a factory is damaged, and
// (4) when an undamaged Blue or Green factory is controlled by the enemy.
// In all these cases the temporary factory units are placed in off-map pools so
// players can see the status of factories that are not currently usable but
// which may become usable in the future.
//
// Building a new factory causes a New Factory unit to be created and placed in
// a Production Pool. Once the factory arrives as a 'reinforcement', the New
// Factory unit is removed from the game and the factory icon in its arrival hex
// is modified to display a new Green factory.
//
// Moving a Blue factory by rail causes a Moving Factory unit to be created and
// placed in a Production Pool. Once the factory arrives as a 'reinforcement',
// the Moving Factory unit is removed from the game and the factory icon in its
// arrival hex is modified to display a new Blue factory. Some scenarios start
// with the USSR having Moving Factory units in the Setup tray and/or a
// Production Pool. The USSR player can placed these factories in any valid
// city hex in the USSR. However, all factories that are moved during a game
// have their destinations specified by the player when they are first moved.
// Those destinations cannot be changed and the factory must arrive in the city
// hex originally chosen by the player.
//
// 'Destroying' a Red or Blue factory during strategic bombing causes a Damaged
// Factory unit to be created and placed in the Repair Pool. Destroyed Green
// factories are simply removed from the game.
//
// When control of a factory hex changes sides, there are 2 possibilities:
// (1) the factories are 'Captured' by the enemy, or
// (2) the factories are 'Recaptured' by the side that originally controlled it.
// For instance, Germany occupying Lille 'Captures' the factories in the hex;
// while if the Allies later occupy Lille, then they 'Recapture' the factories.
//
// Capturing or Recapturing a factory hex containing damaged factories does not
// affect the damaged factories, unless they are in the process of being
// repaired. If they are being repaired, then that process is aborted and the
// damaged factory units are returned to the Repair Pool.
//
// Undamaged Blue and Green factories are never usable when Captured, but are
// immediately usable when Recaptured.
//
// Undamaged Red Factories are immediately usable by the new owner when they are
// Captured or Recaptured, unless the optional rule ConstructionEngineers is
// being used. If the optional rule ConstructionEngineers IS being used, then
// for each undamaged Red factory in a Captured or Recaptured factory hex, a
// Damaged Factory unit is created and placed in the Repair Pool.
//
// When a factory hex is Recaptured, for each undamaged Blue and Green factory,
// there should be a Factory unit in the Reserve Pool. That unit is removed
// from the game and the corresponding Blue/Green factory immediately becomes
// usable by the original owner.
//
// If during the Factory Destruction phase a Blue factory is destroyed, its
// Factory unit in the Reserve Pool is converted to a Damaged Fatory unit and
// moved into the Repair Pool. Destroying a Green factory causes its Factory
// unit in the Reserve Pool to be removed from the game.
//
// During the Production phase, a player may repair his damaged factories by
// spending build points. If using the optional rule ConstructionEngineers,
// then an engineer unit must be in the factory's hex. When a factory is
// repaired, the Damaged Factory unit for the repaired factory is moved from the
// Repair Pool to a Production Pool to arrive as a reinforcement. Upon arrival,
// the Damaged Factory unit is removed from the game and the factory is shown as
// usable on the map (and in the Production Planning form).
// ****************************************************************************


_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 179
RE: A few questions about the rules - 7/27/2012 10:39:43 PM   
Shannon V. OKeets

 

Posts: 18187
Joined: 5/19/2005
From: Honolulu, Hawaii
Status: online

quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

Other things to cover for factories:

1. What happens to red factories that change ownership but are not occupied by the enemy. FREX Italy is conquered but has two red factories that become German controlled - if playing with Construction Engineers, do they have to be repaired? (We play: No). Another example: Vichy is collapsed - what happens with the Axis trying to use the red factory in Lyons? (We play: It needs to be repaired if playing with Construction Engineers.) OTOH if France is liberated by the Allies and Vichy disappears, should the Allies have to repair Lyons - a> if Vichy was neutral or B> if Vichy was at war with the Allies. (We play: a> No or b> Yes). I can't recall anything in the rules or FAQ that is definitive on these. Our decisions are based on whether the factory can be viewed as having "changed sides" in which case we expect 5th columnists to have sufficiently messed with the infrastruture of the country.

2. Per RAW, blue factories are useable by the country that controlled them in 1939. This means incompletely conquered countries can have blue factory hexes reverted to them inside their original home country and then produce with them. FREX Italy might still produce with a reverted Trieste even though their new home country is now Estonia.

3. A blue factory may only be destroyed by ground units if enemy units - including partisans - are in the country. This can cause weird situations, FREX the Germans can't destroy blue factories in Occupied France after declaring Vichy until the Allies invade or until a French partisan shows up and is still alive at the end of the turn. So for China we always agree that all blue factories controlled by Japan at the start of the Global War scenario are all already destroyed - just so we aren't distracted by the trivialities of having to check if the occupying units are in supply (which is reqiuired for destroying things apparently) and announcing it.

#1: MWIF uses the same code to process change of control of a hex. For factories, the important thing is whether hex control has changed to the other side. So the conquest of Italy would not affect the status of red factories controlled by Germany. Collapsing Vichy would have the same effect since both Vichy and Germany/Italy are on the same side. Liberating France while Vichy is extant would cause hex control to change sides, with the need for an engineer to repair the red factory - if that optional rule is in effect.

#2: Yes, this is how MWIF handles this. I am currently adding code to create a Factory unit for each Blue factory in an enemy controlled hex at the start of a new game. Beside those in China, there are numerous others in the later scenarios. All these units will be in the Reserve Pool, indicating that if the original side recaptures the factory hex, these factories will be immediately usable.

#3: Yes, some situations are difficult to explain logically. But this isn't a problem for MWIF - it just follows the dictates of the rules. [Paul, there is a clarification/correction in RAW which says none of the factories in China has been destroyed.]

_____________________________

Steve

Perfection is an elusive goal.

(in reply to paulderynck)
Post #: 180
Page:   <<   < prev  3 4 5 [6] 7   next >   >>
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> RE: A few questions about the rules Page: <<   < prev  3 4 5 [6] 7   next >   >>
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.117