Matrix Games Forums

Flashpoint Campaigns: Red Storm gets huge update and a Steam release!Battle Academy 2 opens up a new front!Flashpoint Campaigns Featured on weekly Streaming SessionFrontline: The Longest Day - New Screenshots!Deal of the Week: Hannibal Rome and CarthageFlashpoint Campaigns: Red Storm gets Players Edition!To End All Wars gets its first major patch! Hell is now available!War in the West Wacht am Rhein AAR Deal of the Week Panzer Corps: Allied Corps
Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

WaW Question

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Advanced Tactics Series >> WaW Question Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
WaW Question - 3/16/2009 12:17:45 AM   
wick


Posts: 19
Joined: 2/5/2008
From: Canada
Status: offline
Greatings All I have a question about WaW33d I am currently playing a pbem game as Japan and I can honestly say this game has been a strange one.
It is early winter 1940
Germany and Russia are at war which put China and Japan at war early ( no cards where played)
Russia declared war on Japan, played the card to make them go away
West declared war on Japan (Pacific blitz card still not played so US not in war for 3 more turns)
Russia declares war on Japan again and I have no card to make them go away.
So my question is what happens if Japan doesn't play the Pacific Blitz card? I realize that China wins but what exactly happens? Does the game end? Do the other nations continue to fight? What happens to Japan and it's china based army?

Thanks

Wick





_____________________________

"In the absence of orders, go find something to kill"
Post #: 1
RE: WaW Question - 3/16/2009 1:29:07 AM   
explorer2

 

Posts: 465
Joined: 11/30/2007
Status: offline

quote:

Germany and Russia are at war which put China and Japan at war early ( no cards where played)

When GE & SU go to war, however that happens, this automatically puts JA at war with China.

quote:

West declared war on Japan (Pacific blitz card still not played so US not in war for 3 more turns)

I don't know how that's possible. I really thought it wasn't. You sure some other mechanism isn't responsible for war?

quote:

So my question is what happens if Japan doesn't play the Pacific Blitz card? I realize that China wins but what exactly happens? Does the game end? Do the other nations continue to fight? What happens to Japan and it's china based army?)


I've never heard of that happening, so guess I'm not going to be of any help to you.
Please keep us posted what you discover, both about how JA can be at war with West without using the Blitz card, and what happens exactly if they don't play the card.

Good luck!

(in reply to wick)
Post #: 2
RE: WaW Question - 3/16/2009 4:11:28 AM   
wick


Posts: 19
Joined: 2/5/2008
From: Canada
Status: offline
Thanks explorer2

The GE forces on SU border were too low so the SU declared war on GE.

I was surprised when the West declared war on me (Jap) I assume he did it via the diplomatic screen, the game never actually told me that I was at war with the West I just noticed west units attacking my forces.

Wick

_____________________________

"In the absence of orders, go find something to kill"

(in reply to explorer2)
Post #: 3
RE: WaW Question - 3/19/2009 2:12:57 PM   
wick


Posts: 19
Joined: 2/5/2008
From: Canada
Status: offline
Well I played the Blitz card, and now I am at peace with the West I have no option to declare war on the west (no cards and regime screen will not let me declare war) The Dutch East Indies rejoined the West as well as all my garrison troops on the island are now converted to western troops
At least I still control Singapore and Calcutta.

(in reply to wick)
Post #: 4
RE: WaW Question - 3/19/2009 11:13:31 PM   
Tagwyn

 

Posts: 58
Joined: 10/23/2006
Status: offline
Wicky:  Are you aware that Hitler is the most evil person in all of history?  t

(in reply to wick)
Post #: 5
RE: WaW Question - 3/19/2009 11:31:25 PM   
wick


Posts: 19
Joined: 2/5/2008
From: Canada
Status: offline
I think I read that somewhere
Maybe if he had got more into the banjo, history would be different.

(in reply to Tagwyn)
Post #: 6
RE: WaW Question - 3/19/2009 11:33:34 PM   
wick


Posts: 19
Joined: 2/5/2008
From: Canada
Status: offline
The west is able to declare war on Japan from the regime screen even at the start of the game.

(in reply to explorer2)
Post #: 7
RE: WaW Question - 3/20/2009 2:55:33 AM   
explorer2

 

Posts: 465
Joined: 11/30/2007
Status: offline
I've checked out 33d in game and cannot reproduce your results, at least from the beginning of the game. Later I will try to reproduce your steps and see if I can reproduce it happening when you said it did in your actual pbem game. I"ve also checked the code that should be relevant, and have not found a problem.

Here's my guess about what's happened:
Somehow you're playing a modified 33d version. There's just one setting that would need to be changed, probably by accident, to make what you're mentioning happen (Regimes/West/DipBlock from true to false). I see no other explanation for why West could declare war on JA from the beginning.

There are other possible (though unlikely) explanations in events code to explain why it happened deeper in the game. I"ll try to have a look at that some other time.

My recommendation: Remove your version of 33d (maybe all WAW versions move to different location for testing purposes)download 33d again (make sure it's not 33dm1!) Re-try. From the beginning of the game, see if it recurs (I sure hope not)

Thanks for being persistent. If there's a bug, we want to find it.

(in reply to wick)
Post #: 8
RE: WaW Question - 3/20/2009 4:55:59 PM   
explorer2

 

Posts: 465
Joined: 11/30/2007
Status: offline
Wick-
OK, thanks for your persistence.
I was wrong! No changes have been made to your version. I checked mine, yours, and the current download, all the same.

What I discovered is I had neglected to check the JA diplomatics setting, I was only checking West's & GE setting.

Tom I expect never envisioned your course of events. The game allows it to occur because there's settings in the code to change relations: meaning whatever they currently are, make them opposite, and settings for when that occurs, have the territories and units change as well.
Since JA was already at war with West, when Pacific Blitz played, which just says in effect, "make opposite" it had unintended consequences.

In my upcoming WaW Revised version, currently in testing, I've made a lot of changes to events already, but I will try to ensure that the tragedy that befell your game doesn't occur in my upcoming version.

Thanks again for your persistence.

(in reply to explorer2)
Post #: 9
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Advanced Tactics Series >> WaW Question Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.906