The Value of Your Book Collection?

Gamers can also use this forum to chat about any game related subject, news, rumours etc.

Moderator: maddog986

KG Erwin

The Value of Your Book Collection?

Post by KG Erwin »

I've been collecting military history books for well over 30 years, and some of it is pretty rare. I've priced some of these through what's been offered on E-Bay, and was frankly surprised.

As it stands, I may want to consider insuring the collection. Not to be morbid, but my family can make some money once I'm gone, so my wife needs to know that I actually do own some "junk" that's worth something.

Who else is in this category? Is a collection of several hundred military books something to be considered an heirloom, or simply "stuff" to be sold at an estate sale?
sterckxe

RE: The Value of Your Book Collection?

Post by sterckxe »

ORIGINAL: KG Erwin
Who else is in this category? Is a collection of several hundred military books something to be considered an heirloom, or simply "stuff" to be sold at an estate sale?

Most books are not worth much on the second hand market - but if you're talking several hundred the numbers can add up.

Same for a collection of boardgames - they may be precious to you - but unless they're extremely rare, shrinkwrapped or in mint condition they won't fetch much. But again it's a numbers game : if you got several hundred of them ...

Greetz,

Eddy Sterckx
Neilster

Post by Neilster »

Approximately two trillion dollars but it could be significantly more. You know all those Ancient Greek scrolls that supposedly burned when the library at Alexandria went up in flames? Nah...I've got 'em in my spare room. Along with a second century bible, the Hitler diaries...the list goes on.

Cheers, Neilster
Cheers, Neilster
Brigz

Post by Brigz »

I've been collecting military history books for well over 30 years, and some of it is pretty rare. I've priced some of these through what's been offered on E-Bay, and was frankly surprised.