Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Depots in harbors

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [Napoleonics] >> Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815 >> Depots in harbors Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Depots in harbors - 1/8/2008 3:11:09 PM   
bresh

 

Posts: 936
Joined: 8/8/2005
Status: offline
Anyone ever figured out how to move depot in area into unblockaed harbor if enemies come by ?
Or how do you place it in the harbor from start ?

Regards
Bresh
Post #: 1
RE: Depots in harbors - 1/8/2008 3:22:15 PM   
Marshall Ellis


Posts: 5630
Joined: 10/2/2001
From: Dallas
Status: offline
The only time you can place it in the city is when the city is besieged and the port is not blockaded so you cannot really move it to the city. You would have to let the rural depot be destryed (or remove it yourself) then place a new depot in the port city (When besieged).
Does this help?


_____________________________

Thank you

Marshall Ellis
Outflank Strategy War Games



(in reply to bresh)
Post #: 2
RE: Depots in harbors - 1/18/2008 2:37:30 PM   
bresh

 

Posts: 936
Joined: 8/8/2005
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Marshall Ellis

The only time you can place it in the city is when the city is besieged and the port is not blockaded so you cannot really move it to the city. You would have to let the rural depot be destryed (or remove it yourself) then place a new depot in the port city (When besieged).
Does this help?



Do i need to point somewhere special in the area ??

I tried it as GB, having control of Portugal, Spain not blockading the port. Having a depot in London. Yet when i try place a depot in Lisabon hex it says no supply chain :(

Im wondering what im doing wrong ?

Regards
Bresh

(in reply to Marshall Ellis)
Post #: 3
RE: Depots in harbors - 1/18/2008 5:30:00 PM   
dude

 

Posts: 399
Joined: 5/4/2005
From: Fairfax Virginia
Status: offline
Keep in mind the besieged depot does have to trace sea supply so you must have another depot with a fleet in another port somewhere to trace to (and it must exist before the current turn.)  When I'm GB I almost always leave a depot and a 1ship fleet in London just for this purpose.

Dude

_____________________________

“Ifs defeated the Confederates…” U.S.Grant

(in reply to bresh)
Post #: 4
RE: Depots in harbors - 1/18/2008 8:08:24 PM   
bresh

 

Posts: 936
Joined: 8/8/2005
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: dude

Keep in mind the besieged depot does have to trace sea supply so you must have another depot with a fleet in another port somewhere to trace to (and it must exist before the current turn.)  When I'm GB I almost always leave a depot and a 1ship fleet in London just for this purpose.

Dude


As i wrote there is depot in London. I dont know where you find the documentation there needs to be a fleet to(there is), but noting i read in docs says fleets need to be there to.

Regards
Bresh

(in reply to dude)
Post #: 5
RE: Depots in harbors - 1/18/2008 10:03:44 PM   
dude

 

Posts: 399
Joined: 5/4/2005
From: Fairfax Virginia
Status: offline
I have (at home but not here with me now) the rules to the board game version too (i've noticed a few things missing in the PDF that are better spelled out in the orig rules)... and I'm pretty certain there's mention that the depot in the port needs a fleet there too... but then again that might just be for reinforcements... I'll check when I get home later.  I just recall having a problem tracing supply in one of my first games across sea until I put a fleet in the port with a depot (and it may have been for reinforcements...).  But like I said I'll check.

Dude


_____________________________

“Ifs defeated the Confederates…” U.S.Grant

(in reply to bresh)
Post #: 6
RE: Depots in harbors - 1/18/2008 10:13:08 PM   
AresMars

 

Posts: 234
Joined: 12/13/2007
Status: offline
Dude,

This can help you when you need to check the Orginal EiA rules;

http://www.boardgaming.info/EIA-archive/




(in reply to dude)
Post #: 7
RE: Depots in harbors - 1/18/2008 11:43:07 PM   
zaquex


Posts: 368
Joined: 11/30/2007
From: Vastervik, Sweden
Status: offline
btw I have never tested this but is the convert depot rule in effect in EiANW?

7.3.6.1 UNGARRISONED DEPOT AREA: If during movement a corps, cossack, freikorps or guerilla moves into an area containing an ungarrisoned enemy depot, it may elect to destroy the depot. If it does destroy the depot and ends its movement in that area, then having destroyed the depot counts as having successfully foraged for supply (with no loss) for that one corps counter. An alternative to destroying a depot is to convert (remove the enemy depot and replace it with one of the entering power's depots-there is no money cost for this conversion) it to a friendly depot if that would make it a supply source or an extension of a friendly valid supply chain (see 7.2.3).

7.3.6.2 GARRISONED DEPOT AREA: If an enemy depot is garrisoned, the player controlling the garrison factors has the option of immediately destroying the depot before the moving force chooses whether to leave the area (if permissible) or to stay and fight. If the garrison does not elect to destroy the depot and the phasing force chooses to stop its movement and fight, the depot may be captured after land combat (see 7.3.6.1) and destroyed or converted (but not used for supply this major power's sequence-also see 7.5.2.14). If the garrison destroys the depot, the garrison surrenders or all or part (if city cannot hold all-the part not moved to the city will surrender) can be moved to an unbesieged friendly controlled or vacant city in that same area, at the owning player's option.



< Message edited by zaquex -- 1/18/2008 11:46:07 PM >

(in reply to AresMars)
Post #: 8
RE: Depots in harbors - 1/19/2008 1:00:51 AM   
dude

 

Posts: 399
Joined: 5/4/2005
From: Fairfax Virginia
Status: offline
AresMars,

Cool, thanks... didn't think to look online... doh!

According to 7.4.3 Sea Supply.... (AH board game version)

7.4.3.1 Tracing Sea Supply: In order trace supply accros sea areas there must be one of t major power's depots in each of the two freindly controlled ports or port areas between which supply it to be traced. At least one of these morst MUST CONTAIN A FLEET(S) of the major power and/or an ally and that port must be a supply sorce or be able to trace a valid supply chain via deports to a supply sorce. Neither port may be blockaded. If these conditionsare fulfilled, the ports are valid links in a supply chain. The effect of this is as if the depots were in adjacent areas (regardless of the number os sea areas actually between them) for all purposes including placement of reinforcements.


So assuming the game was implimented as written in the rules then you do need a fleet in one of the ports with a depot...

So if you put a depot in a besiged port, and another in London... you still need a fleet in one of them to allow for sea supply between them. Hope this helps.

Dude

_____________________________

“Ifs defeated the Confederates…” U.S.Grant

(in reply to AresMars)
Post #: 9
RE: Depots in harbors - 1/19/2008 1:43:47 AM   
zaquex


Posts: 368
Joined: 11/30/2007
From: Vastervik, Sweden
Status: offline
I think you even need a fleet with the original depot 4 it to work "...and that port must be a supply sorce or..." and as Trin pointed out in another thread to let the new depot fill its own prerequisits would be a case of circular logic.

< Message edited by zaquex -- 1/19/2008 1:59:23 AM >

(in reply to dude)
Post #: 10
RE: Depots in harbors - 1/19/2008 8:36:50 PM   
bresh

 

Posts: 936
Joined: 8/8/2005
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: zaquex

I think you even need a fleet with the original depot 4 it to work "...and that port must be a supply sorce or..." and as Trin pointed out in another thread to let the new depot fill its own prerequisits would be a case of circular logic.



So I still wonder why, i couldnt place a depot in besieged Lisabon (which aint blockaded)
When i have fleets in London+Depot.(which aint blockaded)

What am i missing ?

Regards
Bresh


(in reply to zaquex)
Post #: 11
RE: Depots in harbors - 1/21/2008 4:22:55 AM   
Bearcat2

 

Posts: 496
Joined: 2/14/2004
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: bresh


quote:

ORIGINAL: zaquex

I think you even need a fleet with the original depot 4 it to work "...and that port must be a supply sorce or..." and as Trin pointed out in another thread to let the new depot fill its own prerequisits would be a case of circular logic.



So I still wonder why, i couldnt place a depot in besieged Lisabon (which aint blockaded)
When i have fleets in London+Depot.(which aint blockaded)

What am i missing ?

Regards
Bresh




Are you at war with the besieging power? if not; then that might be the problem.

(in reply to bresh)
Post #: 12
RE: Depots in harbors - 1/21/2008 12:10:15 PM   
Naomi

 

Posts: 654
Joined: 6/21/2005
From: Osaka
Status: offline
I have the same problem - inability to place any depot in a besieged Lisbon while at war with Spain. All I could do is using invasion supply for the troops encircled in the city. By the way, would I get a chance to choose to retreat a corps into a city (with enough space for the factors) when confronted by the enemy? I remember I was never offered any such choice.

(in reply to Bearcat2)
Post #: 13
RE: Depots in harbors - 1/21/2008 1:00:47 PM   
bresh

 

Posts: 936
Joined: 8/8/2005
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Naomi

I have the same problem - inability to place any depot in a besieged Lisbon while at war with Spain. All I could do is using invasion supply for the troops encircled in the city. By the way, would I get a chance to choose to retreat a corps into a city (with enough space for the factors) when confronted by the enemy? I remember I was never offered any such choice.


Dont think retreat into city is part of this version of EIA.


quote:

ORIGINAL: Termite2
Are you at war with the besieging power? if not; then that might be the problem.


No, I am not at war with spain, just testing stuff. Maybe i should try test if at war helps.


Regards
Bresh

(in reply to Naomi)
Post #: 14
RE: Depots in harbors - 1/21/2008 4:17:37 PM   
zaquex


Posts: 368
Joined: 11/30/2007
From: Vastervik, Sweden
Status: offline
I would asume that if ur not at war with spain, ur not besieged and therefore you cant place a depot in the city and if he (spain) has a depot in the area you cant place a one cause of the max one depot/area rule.

Also if the game is implemented correctly, spain besieges Lisbon as you are not at war with him your troops immidiatly have to surrender.

< Message edited by zaquex -- 1/21/2008 4:24:16 PM >

(in reply to bresh)
Post #: 15
RE: Depots in harbors - 1/21/2008 6:22:30 PM   
dude

 

Posts: 399
Joined: 5/4/2005
From: Fairfax Virginia
Status: offline
Well I just tested it and I can't find a way to create a depot in a besieged port of Lisbon either.  (I haven't tried it elsewhere yet...)

Spanish force is outside Lisbon, Portugal corps inside city... GB is supporting Portugal and is at war with Spain... fleets in London with depot... clicking on create depot at Lisbon gives you the message "Unit Cannot Move or Be Placed Here!".  Invasion supply works just fine... I have a GB fleet off the coast and I can build a depot and supply the forces in Lisbon that way. 

So either it's a bug, not implimented, or we just don't understand how to add the depot properly to forces inside a city.

Dude

_____________________________

“Ifs defeated the Confederates…” U.S.Grant

(in reply to zaquex)
Post #: 16
RE: Depots in harbors - 1/22/2008 12:16:07 AM   
bresh

 

Posts: 936
Joined: 8/8/2005
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: zaquex

I would asume that if ur not at war with spain, ur not besieged and therefore you cant place a depot in the city and if he (spain) has a depot in the area you cant place a one cause of the max one depot/area rule.

Also if the game is implemented correctly, spain besieges Lisbon as you are not at war with him your troops immidiatly have to surrender.



The major power is not at war with Spain.
Offcourse Portugal is.
Atleast EIA allowed 2 depots in same area if one was inside besieged habor. Dont know if that is implemented in this version.
But Portugal would have the first option to place a depot in the area, unless Spain does not besiege the first turn and place a depot the next land phase, (they cant place depots unless they have corps starting in the area).
Not sure how it works in EIAnw, i guess you cant place depots in the habor unless besieged ? Though note in this case Spain is besieging Portugal...


Regards
Bresh

(in reply to zaquex)
Post #: 17
RE: Depots in harbors - 1/22/2008 1:32:31 AM   
zaquex


Posts: 368
Joined: 11/30/2007
From: Vastervik, Sweden
Status: offline
could you post a screen shoot of the situation? it might help figure out whats going on.

(in reply to bresh)
Post #: 18
RE: Depots in harbors - 1/22/2008 1:48:33 AM   
Monadman


Posts: 2085
Joined: 12/6/2005
From: New Hampshire
Status: offline
Guys, sorry I didn’t post this sooner (thought I had) but it is a known bug (it broke again) and I already have a file for it. Thanks

Richard


_____________________________


(in reply to zaquex)
Post #: 19
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [Napoleonics] >> Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815 >> Depots in harbors Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.141