Matrix Games Forums

Deal of the Week - Pride of NationsA new update for Piercing Fortress EuropaNew screenshots for War in the West!Pike & Shot is now available!Server Maintenance Battle Academy 2 gets updated!Deal of the Week: Advanced Tactics Gold Ask Buzz Aldrin!Pike & Shot gets Release Date and Twitch Session!Deal of the Week Espana 1936
Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

HQ questions

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War I] >> Guns of August 1914 - 1918 >> HQ questions Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
HQ questions - 8/4/2007 8:01:29 AM   
randell765

 

Posts: 214
Joined: 3/18/2005
Status: offline
I have 3 questions on HQ's

1)Can Hq's be taken over?

2)Can Hq's be damaged?

3)Do Hq's add anything if you bring them into battle?
Post #: 1
RE: HQ questions - 8/4/2007 9:08:41 AM   
SMK-at-work

 

Posts: 3251
Joined: 8/28/2000
From: New Zealand
Status: offline
[vaguely Asian voiceover]
Good questions young glasshopper.

For the first the answer is.....

No...your head quarters units never fight for the other side!

Your second question is deep and meaningful...and after much careful consideration I can reveal that...no, your headquarters cannot be damaged.

Lastly...this is WW1 ....what do you think a general leading from the front would achieve?? Nothing!! And the game accurately refelcts that because that is what they add to combat...nothing.

And so glasshopper, the cherry blossom knows no bounds.....

[/vaguely Asian voiceover]

< Message edited by SMK-at-work -- 8/4/2007 9:12:17 AM >

(in reply to randell765)
Post #: 2
RE: HQ questions - 8/5/2007 8:27:17 PM   
Def Zep


Posts: 223
Joined: 6/20/2003
From: Out of the Silent Planet
Status: offline
quote:

3)Do Hq's add anything if you bring them into battle?


HQ's may provide an improvement to readiness, which translates into a better combat capability. Units stacked with HQ's in combat appear to lose less readiness when fighting.


(in reply to randell765)
Post #: 3
RE: HQ questions - 8/6/2007 1:14:11 AM   
j campbell


Posts: 283
Joined: 1/20/2001
From: Grosse Pointe, MI
Status: offline
good to know- i exected like SMK that they did nothing and so kept them off the front lines.  perhaps i will have to put a few back in. 

_____________________________

"the willow branch but bends beneath the snow"

(in reply to Def Zep)
Post #: 4
RE: HQ questions - 8/6/2007 2:15:25 AM   
Arinvald


Posts: 1774
Joined: 10/2/2001
From: Kentucky
Status: offline
Wonder if Frank could chime in on this HQ Readiness boost possibility?

_____________________________

"The fruit of too much liberty is slavery", Cicero

(in reply to j campbell)
Post #: 5
RE: HQ questions - 8/6/2007 2:15:43 AM   
SMK-at-work

 

Posts: 3251
Joined: 8/28/2000
From: New Zealand
Status: offline
Ot it might be that Def's attacks where he had HQ's were at better odds so he lost less readiness....they didnt' add anything in the beta - the only question asked about them was whether they should lose activation points if they were over-run......

(in reply to j campbell)
Post #: 6
RE: HQ questions - 8/6/2007 2:28:11 PM   
Mike Bowen

 

Posts: 20
Joined: 8/3/2007
Status: offline
If HQs can not be damaged you could abuse this by using a line of HQs to slow an advance forcing a player to use a HQ point to activate perhaps HQs on their own could be entered by a player without spending an AP

(in reply to SMK-at-work)
Post #: 7
RE: HQ questions - 8/6/2007 2:48:35 PM   
Lava


Posts: 1629
Joined: 2/9/2004
Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: Mike Bowen

If HQs can not be damaged you could abuse this by using a line of HQs to slow an advance forcing a player to use a HQ point to activate perhaps HQs on their own could be entered by a player without spending an AP


Well...

To enter enemy territory you have to activate an HQ, so it doesn't cause the player to "burn" activations.

The only hindrance would be to cavalry which could normally move into an enemy hex without a HQ activation. So... yes you can "game" it a bit here but it isn't going to help you very much.

Ray (alias Lava)

(in reply to Mike Bowen)
Post #: 8
RE: HQ questions - 8/6/2007 7:11:04 PM   
Def Zep


Posts: 223
Joined: 6/20/2003
From: Out of the Silent Planet
Status: offline
Hi SMK,

quote:

Ot it might be that Def's attacks where he had HQ's were at better odds so he lost less readiness....


That is certainly possible.

I generally put my best corps in the hex with the HQ, not wanting to risk losing its offensive points.

But I have noticed, in combats with & without an HQ, that the hexes in which an HQ is present appears to lose less readiness. Is there maybe a readiness boost for an HQ? It would make sense if they did...

Maybe Frank could weigh in and answer for us.

(in reply to SMK-at-work)
Post #: 9
RE: HQ questions - 8/6/2007 10:09:42 PM   
Blackhorse06


Posts: 288
Joined: 6/21/2004
Status: offline
Actually, Any HQ that is forced to retreat will lose Activation Points. This means, you might NOT want to keep those HQ in the front lines proper. 

(in reply to Def Zep)
Post #: 10
RE: HQ questions - 8/7/2007 12:25:07 AM   
SMK-at-work

 

Posts: 3251
Joined: 8/28/2000
From: New Zealand
Status: offline
And cavalry can enter enemy occupied hexes except cities, ie those with troops in them, without activation as long as they start stacked with infantry....so there's really no upside for this

(in reply to Blackhorse06)
Post #: 11
RE: HQ questions - 8/7/2007 1:05:36 AM   
j campbell


Posts: 283
Joined: 1/20/2001
From: Grosse Pointe, MI
Status: offline
still,  since there is no radius of hexes for Hq (they all have 1 surrounding hex radius) it would seem more beneficial to burn them down 1 at a time.  Chances are that you will never hace all your HQ's at Full strength after the first 2 turns anyway.  you can successfully use a "0" Hq as  part of your line to slow an enemy's advance.  if you lose is oh well there are many more where it came from.  seems like an effective albeit dangerous strategem.  if he does not recon the unit he may believe that it is a lv A 24 str inf unit.  Cav or no cav. 



_____________________________

"the willow branch but bends beneath the snow"

(in reply to SMK-at-work)
Post #: 12
RE: HQ questions - 8/7/2007 1:26:30 AM   
hjaco

 

Posts: 872
Joined: 3/23/2007
Status: offline
Or you can defend with artillery units only, barraging the enemy before being forced to retreat. Could be quite a heroic hollywood movie

(in reply to j campbell)
Post #: 13
RE: HQ questions - 8/7/2007 1:28:50 AM   
j campbell


Posts: 283
Joined: 1/20/2001
From: Grosse Pointe, MI
Status: offline
are arty units the same way? i hadn't realized that?  if you attack a hex with only arty units are they not just destroyed?

_____________________________

"the willow branch but bends beneath the snow"

(in reply to hjaco)
Post #: 14
RE: HQ questions - 8/7/2007 1:35:10 AM   
hjaco

 

Posts: 872
Joined: 3/23/2007
Status: offline
Nope - only if receiving an additional damage from artillery barrage.

Although i don't have any hard data on the possibility of receiving damage from ground combat as well - can anyone help out on this ?

But i have never lost damaged artillery from ground combat so far.

(in reply to j campbell)
Post #: 15
RE: HQ questions - 8/7/2007 1:44:41 AM   
j campbell


Posts: 283
Joined: 1/20/2001
From: Grosse Pointe, MI
Status: offline
thats not good if it is true-they shoudl be destroyed as well as HQ units if attacked alone.  why not give HQ units a str of like 3-5 or something?

_____________________________

"the willow branch but bends beneath the snow"

(in reply to hjaco)
Post #: 16
RE: HQ questions - 8/7/2007 1:49:34 AM   
SMK-at-work

 

Posts: 3251
Joined: 8/28/2000
From: New Zealand
Status: offline
j campbell the point is that having a HQ unit alone in a hex doesabsolutely nothing - it does not slow the enemy advance because it makes no difference to how they can advance into the hex compared to an empty hex - they either spend an activation point or send in a cav unit.

so a hex with a HQ unit in it has EXACTLY the same effect on teh enemy advance as an empty hex that you own.

QED - putting HQ's alone in hexes to slow the enemy down or cause him to use resources is a pointless exercise.

(in reply to j campbell)
Post #: 17
RE: HQ questions - 8/7/2007 2:04:11 AM   
j campbell


Posts: 283
Joined: 1/20/2001
From: Grosse Pointe, MI
Status: offline
i would not say that it has absolutely no benefit.  if you screen a city (deploy the 0 hq unit 1 hex in front of  threatened city-one that could be taken in 2 impulses by actively moving inf units) then the enely has to regard it as being an inf unit rather than an hq unit unless he knows otherwise. 

If you have adjacent to me a unit-i know not the disposition or strength of it and i wanted the hex i am not sending in a cav unit for gods sake-i am sending in a massed inf assault.  but what if its not an inf unit at allbut a 0 lv Hq?  then it just retreats with no effect and i have used an activation-see it does in fact serve a purpose.


_____________________________

"the willow branch but bends beneath the snow"

(in reply to SMK-at-work)
Post #: 18
RE: HQ questions - 8/7/2007 2:06:51 AM   
j campbell


Posts: 283
Joined: 1/20/2001
From: Grosse Pointe, MI
Status: offline
it would not serve the russians adequately to send in 1 inf unit if the german unit was a lv 24 inf unit and not a lv 0 hq-that my point-if the ruskies will assault they will do it on force (if they are wise). hence perhaps using a lv 0 hq to screen your line may serve useful-whether or not you will find a place for it in the game is another matter.  perhaps this tactic can be used on the west front but it is small so i don't know-by the way i have never tried this just thinking aloud.  

_____________________________

"the willow branch but bends beneath the snow"

(in reply to j campbell)
Post #: 19
RE: HQ questions - 8/7/2007 2:08:32 AM   
SMK-at-work

 

Posts: 3251
Joined: 8/28/2000
From: New Zealand
Status: offline
I'd happily send a cav unit against a single unknown unit - it saves me an activation point and tells me what's there if I haven't recce'd it already.

Unless I'm pushing hard and don't have any cavalry, in which case I have to spend an activation point anyway...and that is the normal case for me - if I'm making a push then using cavalry to scout only slows me down, so I don't.

(in reply to j campbell)
Post #: 20
RE: HQ questions - 8/7/2007 2:14:39 AM   
hjaco

 

Posts: 872
Joined: 3/23/2007
Status: offline
Besides, if you really don't have any choice but to defend with empty HQ alone, you are toast anyway.

(in reply to SMK-at-work)
Post #: 21
RE: HQ questions - 8/8/2007 4:46:47 AM   
Def Zep


Posts: 223
Joined: 6/20/2003
From: Out of the Silent Planet
Status: offline
quote:

Actually, Any HQ that is forced to retreat will lose Activation Points. This means, you might NOT want to keep those HQ in the front lines proper.
- Blackhorse06


This is certainly valuable information to know; Would appreciate confirmation by Frank or one of the devs.

quote:

Chances are that you will never hace all your HQ's at Full strength after the first 2 turns anyway. you can successfully use a "0" Hq as part of your line to slow an enemy's advance. if you lose is oh well there are many more where it came from.
- j campbell


Can't you disband a "zero activation" HQ and reclaim its build cost in the strategic menu?

(in reply to Blackhorse06)
Post #: 22
RE: HQ questions - 8/8/2007 4:57:17 AM   
SMK-at-work

 

Posts: 3251
Joined: 8/28/2000
From: New Zealand
Status: offline
IIRC you can only disband units that are less than a % of their full strength - I think it's 50% or less - HQ's don't have a strength, so I don't think you can disband them (but I don't have the game or the rules handy to check).

but if you could but you only get manpower and EQUIPMENT points back from disbanded units.....so you wouldn't get any HQ points spent building them anyway.

(in reply to Def Zep)
Post #: 23
RE: HQ questions - 8/8/2007 5:09:41 AM   
Def Zep


Posts: 223
Joined: 6/20/2003
From: Out of the Silent Planet
Status: offline
Hi SMK,

quote:

IIRC you can only disband units that are less than a % of their full strength - I think it's 50% or less - HQ's don't have a strength, so I don't think you can disband them


Good to know!

The rules don't say one way or the other. I booted up a solo game - the menu allows the "disband" order for an HQ, but nothing happens when you select it. So I agree with your assessment that it's not possible to do so.

quote:

but if you could but you only get manpower and EQUIPMENT points back from disbanded units.....so you wouldn't get any HQ points spent building them anyway.


Agreed...I would only disband if the HQ was "empty" (i.e., zero activation points). (Presuming you could do it in the first place.)

(in reply to SMK-at-work)
Post #: 24
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War I] >> Guns of August 1914 - 1918 >> HQ questions Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.191