I've sifted through some threads and have kept a running FAQ for Guns of August. I've taken the the liberty of editing many of the questions for brevity. I hope some find this list of some value. I'll keep it updated as future Q&As get discussed.
At the start of a turn there was a message that Belgium had surrendered. Will their army reappear?
No. If Belgium surrendered, their army won't return.
Is there a requirement for the Germans to maintain levels of forces in the east, after a Russian surrender?
effect is on the amount of activity within a turn, i.e., the number of impulses.
How does artillery become damaged, requiring refit? Sometimes I notice my artillery appears as 3D, instead of 3.
When artillery fires into a hex containing enemy artillery, it can damage that artillery. If the artillery is already damaged, it may be destroyed.
Is their any advantage to enjoying air superiority to available air support? (Aerial reconnaissance).
Air superiority is taken into account when computing the amount of air support you'll receive. So 5 air points with air superiority should usually generate more air support than 5 air points on a contested front. Aerial reconnaissance allows you to see the strength within an enemy hex.
Is there any defensive benefit to occupying rough terrain?
Yes. Within the combat display next to the word "Terrain," you'll see the modifier for terrain type.
In rough terrain, are you better off occupying a clear hex by stacking the maximum number of corps within the hex? This strategy could force my opponent to attack from a lesser capacity hex, thereby limiting his total attacking force.
That would probably be more a useful way to exploit rough terrain than the combat modifier. In the Alps especially it can be very difficult to attack in force due to the terrain constraints, not the combat modifiers.
Is there a "next" key to cycle HQ's and other units?
What does the designation, S, refer to in an artillery unit counter?
That's a siege artillery unit. Very effective for attacking fixed fortifications like Liege and other fortified cities.
Can you deploy corps outside your national boundaries at the start?
No, 1914 deployment is within your own nation only.
Trenches are assigned by hex in the strategic phase. Can new units move to that hex in an impulse or strat move, and still benefit from the trench that turn?
During an impulse or strat move, do units moving out of a hex with a trench effect the trench level in any way?
If all units in a hex with trenches are forced to retreat through combat, are all the trench points lost?
No, but trenches do get destoyed by combat so they might be gone anyway.
Are trenches lost if the enemy occupies the hex after your retreat?
I have captured some resource hexes, food in particular, but I haven't noticed a rise in food production. What requirements must be met in order to start receiving benefits of captured resources?
Capturing food does help you but it's only counted during the next Strategic Phase. Captured food hexes only count for 1/3, so you need 3 captured food hexes to add one food point to your stocks each turn.
What sea zones do the city ports of Southampton and Plymouth give access to?
Southampton is considered on the North Sea side and Plymouth on the Atlantic side.
Does the AI cheat?
The AI does not peek at your stacks. On the other hand it does have a memory of past games and if a pattern is repeating it may have a good idea of what you have. Then again the situation could look similar but the AI could be very wrong.
What are the levels of national morale?
Assuming a nation's morale was 100 to start, each subsequent level be 80, 60, 40 and 20.
Does national morale effect an army's exhaustion level?
No, exhaustion applies only to an army. Exhaustion does effect national morale, but not vice versa.
Is it possible to increase morale through the recapture of cities?
Do units stacked within a hex along with a HQ benefit from an increase in readiness levels?
Can industry be eliminated?
Yes, through combat, capture and loss of key cities.
For assault troops to benefit from their bonuses during an attack, is it necessary for the entire stack to be composed of them?
No, one per stack works fine.
Will reinforcing depleted units cause a degradation in quality?
Eventually, yes. For example, a corps unit of 24 strength will drop a level in quality once it has absorbed 48 reinforcements.
< Message edited by flintlock -- 9/3/2007 10:33:21 PM >