Matrix Games Forums

Flashpoint Campaigns: Red Storm gets huge update and a Steam release!Battle Academy 2 opens up a new front!Flashpoint Campaigns Featured on weekly Streaming SessionFrontline: The Longest Day - New Screenshots!Deal of the Week: Hannibal Rome and CarthageFlashpoint Campaigns: Red Storm gets Players Edition!To End All Wars gets its first major patch! Hell is now available!War in the West Wacht am Rhein AAR Deal of the Week Panzer Corps: Allied Corps
Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

RE: Initial Questions

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War I] >> Guns of August 1914 - 1918 >> RE: Initial Questions Page: <<   < prev  1 [2]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RE: Initial Questions - 8/3/2007 4:40:53 AM   
SMK-at-work

 

Posts: 3252
Joined: 8/28/2000
From: New Zealand
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Def Zep

13. 16.0 Can cavalry corps be built?


Yes - see teh strategic phase build units function

quote:


14. 17.0 Similarly, can cavalry corps losses be replaced via arms refit?


Yes - the "next unit" button cycles through them as well as infantry corps...but it only cycles through damaged units that can receive at least 1 replacement point.

(in reply to Def Zep)
Post #: 31
RE: Initial Questions - 8/4/2007 3:54:02 AM   
Def Zep


Posts: 223
Joined: 6/20/2003
From: Out of the Silent Planet
Status: offline
19. 20.2, Naval Missions - Return (Observation): According to the rules, the return mission does not cost a naval asset point. However, one point is charged for each ship on patrol given a return mission on the naval orders screen in the strategic phase.

20. 20.2, Naval Missions - Patrol (Observation): Although assigned to go to the Baltic, SMS ships placed on patrol out of Wilhelmshaven sail to the North Sea.

It is advisable to rebase the HSF to Rostock or Stettin if you wish to use it in the Baltic 1914-15. Be advised British ships on patrol in the North Sea can intercept any SMS ships in Wilhelmshaven, no matter what mission or sea zone they are assigned.

21. 16.0, Build Forces (Observation): There is a fixed limit ("countersheet") of corps each country may field. For example, Germany may only ever have 4 cavalry corps active at any one time. One of these must be destroyed (or disbanded) before another can be built.

22. 16.0, Build Forces - Disbandment (Observation): Reinforcements may not be disbanded the same turn they are received. This includes HQ's which are renamed that strategic phase.

Observed with CP HQ "Bulow #2".

23. 20.2, Naval Missions (Observation): Damaged ships on patrol may not be reassigned a return or a rebase mission. They may be repaired during the strategic phase on the naval screen. However, they will carry out their still-assigned mission in the subsequent Naval Phase, at whatever damage level they are at.

Against a competent British player, this will result in most damaged German ships being sunk in the Naval Movement Phase following their repair, if they are based at Wilhelmshaven. Only running out of naval asset points (so that they no longer can sail) will prevent this.



< Message edited by Def Zep -- 8/4/2007 3:55:48 AM >

(in reply to Def Zep)
Post #: 32
RE: Initial Questions - 8/5/2007 9:22:48 PM   
Def Zep


Posts: 223
Joined: 6/20/2003
From: Out of the Silent Planet
Status: offline
24. 14.0 National Morale and Exhaustion:

What are the various levels of National Morale?

Does one morale level = one exhaustion level?

Can morale be regained through the recapture of lost cities?

(in reply to Def Zep)
Post #: 33
RE: Initial Questions - 8/6/2007 7:29:52 PM   
Def Zep


Posts: 223
Joined: 6/20/2003
From: Out of the Silent Planet
Status: offline
25. Will any other resolutions than the default 1024x760, or the (upcoming) patch 1 1200x1024, be supported?


26. Do HQ's provide an increase in readiness to the hex they are stacked in? (Or have any other undocumented benefits, especially in regards to combat?)

(in reply to Def Zep)
Post #: 34
RE: Initial Questions - 8/6/2007 7:43:32 PM   
Def Zep


Posts: 223
Joined: 6/20/2003
From: Out of the Silent Planet
Status: offline
27. Can Industry be eliminated (through combat, capture/recapture of their city, etc.)?

(in reply to Def Zep)
Post #: 35
RE: Initial Questions - 8/6/2007 8:33:53 PM   
FrankHunter

 

Posts: 2030
Joined: 3/26/2004
Status: offline
quote:

24. 14.0 National Morale and Exhaustion:

What are the various levels of National Morale?


Assuming a nation's morale was 100 at start, each of the levels would be 80, 60, 40, 20.

quote:

Does one morale level = one exhaustion level?


No, exhaustion applies only to the army.  But it certainly does affect national morale, but not vice versa.

quote:

Can morale be regained through the recapture of lost cities?


Yes

quote:

25. Will any other resolutions than the default 1024x760, or the (upcoming) patch 1 1200x1024, be supported?


I can probably add other resolutions


quote:

26. Do HQ's provide an increase in readiness to the hex they are stacked in? (Or have any other undocumented benefits, especially in regards to combat?)


No

quote:

27. Can Industry be eliminated (through combat, capture/recapture of their city, etc.)?


Yes

(in reply to Def Zep)
Post #: 36
RE: Initial Questions - 8/6/2007 9:05:08 PM   
Def Zep


Posts: 223
Joined: 6/20/2003
From: Out of the Silent Planet
Status: offline
Thanks much, Frank! Your support is excellent!

28. 24.1 Russian Revolution (Observation): Please note it is not necessary for the Kerensky Government to take office, for the Bolsheviks to seize power and negotiate a cease-fire. Russia can surrender immediately, without any interim government, once the conditions are met.

Also, territory/resources are surrendered to Germany, unless one of the other Central Powers has previously taken the hex. Similarly, German corps are taken first as garrison. They leave for 20 strategic turns, i.e., until the end of the game.

Questions: How many corps are placed on garrison?

Are A-H and Ottoman corps eligible for garrison duty (if insufficient German corps are available)?





< Message edited by Def Zep -- 8/6/2007 9:11:38 PM >

(in reply to FrankHunter)
Post #: 37
RE: Initial Questions - 8/6/2007 9:16:22 PM   
FrankHunter

 

Posts: 2030
Joined: 3/26/2004
Status: offline
In the case of Russia, 15 corps are placed on garrison.  They all have to be German if possible.  

(in reply to Def Zep)
Post #: 38
RE: Initial Questions - 8/7/2007 1:13:38 AM   
j campbell


Posts: 283
Joined: 1/20/2001
From: Grosse Pointe, MI
Status: offline
Forts only confer a defensive bonus-minus on the attacker that is.  Do they confer an defender strength bonus or (throw dice in combat)? 

Love the game Frank. really. 

I was wondering-is there a reason that the Forts do not fight by themselves and do not have to be besieged?  that would have been a cool game mechanic-like every end of turn there would be a surrender phase for forts besieged or something (would mean that the attacking units owuld be stacked in that hex (undestroyed forts could be assaulted or destroyed via siege arty). 


_____________________________

"the willow branch but bends beneath the snow"

(in reply to FrankHunter)
Post #: 39
RE: Initial Questions - 8/7/2007 1:32:28 AM   
hjaco

 

Posts: 872
Joined: 3/23/2007
Status: offline
Well in a way they are doing exactly that. Take the attack on Liege which is typically defended with 1 Belgian infantry. Even if you completely destroy this unit your attack will fail, unless your siege artillery completely destroys the fortification.

See you again next week guys

(in reply to j campbell)
Post #: 40
RE: Initial Questions - 8/8/2007 3:30:49 AM   
Def Zep


Posts: 223
Joined: 6/20/2003
From: Out of the Silent Planet
Status: offline
quote:

Well in a way they are doing exactly that. Take the attack on Liege which is typically defended with 1 Belgian infantry. Even if you completely destroy this unit your attack will fail, unless your siege artillery completely destroys the fortification.

- hjaco


hjaco raises a good point here. I also have observed (at Brest-Litovsk and Liege) that one has to completely eliminate all defenders in a fortress hex before being allowed to occupy it (in a subsequent impulse).

29. Is this "working as designed/intended"?

30. If the owner attempts to reinforce in a subsequent impulse and contests the hex (i.e., has his units move in the same impulse as you do), does the fortress fall?

31. Can fortress defense points (i.e., entrenchment levels) recover or be rebuilt (once destroyed by siege artillery)?

32. Can fortresses be isolated? If so, what are the effects? (i.e., will they ever surrender on their own, without being attacked or besieged?)

< Message edited by Def Zep -- 8/8/2007 3:31:10 AM >

(in reply to hjaco)
Post #: 41
RE: Initial Questions - 8/8/2007 4:00:27 AM   
SMK-at-work

 

Posts: 3252
Joined: 8/28/2000
From: New Zealand
Status: offline
Fortress points are exactly the same as entrenchments AFAIK - so you can rebuild them to the max level you can build entrenchements.

fortresses are invariably towns, so provide supply to units in them, hence they will never surrender if isolated.

(in reply to Def Zep)
Post #: 42
RE: Initial Questions - 8/8/2007 5:24:00 AM   
Def Zep


Posts: 223
Joined: 6/20/2003
From: Out of the Silent Planet
Status: offline
Hi SMK,

quote:

Fortress points are exactly the same as entrenchments AFAIK - so you can rebuild them to the max level you can build entrenchements.


I have been unable to replicate this.

The game does permit me to entrench in a fortress hex (adding the entrenchment level to the fortress level in defense) but, once reduced, it does not seem the fortress level itself is being replaced.

I.E., if the hex is vacated or lost, the reported fortification level drops back to whatever amount it was at after the siege artillery bombarded it.

Also, I am limited to my current Trench science level as to the number of entrenchments I can add to the fortification hex. If the fortification itself was higher than this to start, I cannot "rebuild" it all the way back up to its original level, until my tech level reaches or exceeds that value.

quote:

fortresses are invariably towns, so provide supply to units in them, hence they will never surrender if isolated.


Okay! Great to know!


< Message edited by Def Zep -- 8/8/2007 5:25:00 AM >

(in reply to SMK-at-work)
Post #: 43
Page:   <<   < prev  1 [2]
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War I] >> Guns of August 1914 - 1918 >> RE: Initial Questions Page: <<   < prev  1 [2]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

1.861