Help with mod file placement

Please post here for questions and discussion about scenario design and general game modding.

Moderator: Gil R.

Maltsensation

Help with mod file placement

Post by Maltsensation »

I am an extreme novice at using/placing mods. I have downloaded William Amos' July 1861 mod and the Unit Icon (NATO) V2.0. The Icon mod has some instructions in the readme that I obviously was to dim to understand. I could really use some advice on how to place these files.

Can we sticky some advice on how to use and place the mods that are created?

This game is great fun and I have been commited to playing and reading the forums since my purchase and download a week ago. My next step is a live advisary. I am retired military and have always enjoyed wargaming (board, sand-table, and computer).

Thanks for any help in advance
Jeff
christof139

RE: Help with mod file placement

Post by christof139 »

Hi,

1) First look into or explore the files in the patch, don't unzip it, and write down the file names and extensions that will be replacing the original game files.

2) Find the yellow folders in the main game folder containing the files that will be replaced by the modded files.

3) Back up your old files by creating a new yellow sub-folder in each yellow folder within the main game folder that has files that will be replaced by the new modded files. I usually call this new yellow subfolder Original Files or Original Flag Files, Original Data Files, whatever is appropriate.

4) Create a new yellow folder on your desk top, and this could be done in 1), and unzip your new modded files into this new yellow folder, called New Mod FoF Files or whatever.

5) Then maually copy each new mod file into the appropriate main game yellow subfolder to replace the original game files that you previously into new yellow Original File subfolders.