Questions about stacking limits (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition



Message


adsoul64 -> Questions about stacking limits (11/27/2012 3:39:48 PM)

Iím playing DBB mod with stacking limits and Iím trying to penetrate the quibbles of the handle of overstacking. Penalties resulting from it look clear. My doubts are about ďwhenĒ overstack occurs. I seem to remember a thread stating the Stacking Limit is cumulative that I understand as Allied ground units + Japan units. If the sum exceeds SL the hex is overstacked. Unfortunately Iíve been unable to find that thread again. On the other hand looking at the Tracker Iíve the opposing feeling, i.e where Iím not suffering overstacking penalties (because my ground units are less than DL) my opponent says heís doing. So Iím inclined to think that my stacking limit is unrelated to the my oppositeís one.
My second question is about the way guns and vehicles count against the SL. I havenít found anything into the manual.
Many thanks to everybody




witpqs -> RE: Questions about stacking limits (11/27/2012 5:17:03 PM)

No, stacking limits are per side. So a stacking limit in a hex of, say, 35,000 means the limit is 35,000 for each side. The stacking values of the other side are never considered. I know that violates the laws of physics (one day 35,000 Allied stacking value can fit there, the next day 35,000 Allied stacking value plus 35,000 Japanese stacking value can fit there!), but it's a simplification to make the game more manageable to play and maybe even to code.

When you look at the display for an LCU, you will see an area that has Troop Load Cost and Cargo Load Cost. You will also see in that same area Stacking Value. That is the number that is used. BTW I am not sure what version that display line was introduced, but you would benefit from running the latest Beta anyway as it has so many improvements and fixes.




adsoul64 -> RE: Questions about stacking limits (11/28/2012 12:07:45 PM)

Thanks for your answer, so I did guess right. Please, forgive me if I have a couple of questions again.

The stacking value is always used unmodified against the stacking limit? I'm asking because I have seen in the past some stack value that doesn't match the sum of all LCU stacking values. But I could have mistyped datas.

The attached picture shows Troop Capacity in red because the limit is exceeded? Or it's related to something different (for example supply in the hex)?


[image]local://upfiles/40921/BD3025F6E56D455485BE46E43AE8339C.jpg[/image]




witpqs -> RE: Questions about stacking limits (11/28/2012 3:58:11 PM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: adsoul64

Thanks for your answer, so I did guess right. Please, forgive me if I have a couple of questions again.

The stacking value is always used unmodified against the stacking limit? I'm asking because I have seen in the past some stack value that doesn't match the sum of all LCU stacking values. But I could have mistyped datas.

The attached picture shows Troop Capacity in red because the limit is exceeded? Or it's related to something different (for example supply in the hex)?


[image]local://upfiles/40921/BD3025F6E56D455485BE46E43AE8339C.jpg[/image]

IIRC the Troop Capacity will be in red if the limit is exceeded. The problem I have in reading your example is that the red color on the screen pic made the text in red unreadable! So if that number in red is more than the "(45,000)", then yes, the Troop Capacity is exceeded.

BTW, I said "Stacking Value" but when I got into the game later on I noticed it is called "Stacking Cost". I'm sure you already realized that. [:D]

As far as Stacking Cost being used without modification, yes. Just add up the numbers. If there is genuinely a case where it is wrong please report it to Michael in the Tech Support area. The whole problem is that there used to only be displayed the load costs for Troops and for Cargo, as an aid for when the player planned on how much shipping was needed to move a unit. Players soon realized that those numbers could not be used to figure out how much a unit would contribute to stacking. That value was in the scenario database (for each device, and they get added up to arrive at the number for each unit, maybe disabled squads/devices count less - I don't know) but was not displayed by the program. Upon request the Tracker guys made Tracker display it, and later on Michael worked it into AE as well. In other words, the whole point of the "Stacking Cost" display is that it is the actual number for that unit. Add up all the units in a hex/at a base, and that is the total. With stacking so critical it's a major, major, help to have that number displayed.




adsoul64 -> RE: Questions about stacking limits (11/29/2012 4:39:01 PM)

Great, now I got it. And obviously Excel is to blame [8|]




witpqs -> RE: Questions about stacking limits (11/29/2012 5:47:58 PM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: adsoul64

Great, now I got it. And obviously Excel is to blame [8|]

What? [&:]




adsoul64 -> RE: Questions about stacking limits (11/29/2012 8:05:31 PM)

It's a rule of thumb. When I miss a calculation, it's MS Excel who made it wrong, not me [;)]




Cannonfodder -> RE: Questions about stacking limits (11/29/2012 8:10:24 PM)

I usually blame my girlfriend, but excel works fine as well




adsoul64 -> RE: Questions about stacking limits (11/29/2012 8:22:54 PM)

I don't have any reason to blame your girlfriend and the mine is used to work with scalpels, so I guess I will stay with Excel [:D]




dr.hal -> RE: Questions about stacking limits (11/30/2012 7:49:44 PM)

I blame the dog, been using that line since grade-school and seems to work.... "Honest Ms. Smith, the dog ate my homework!"....




witpqs -> RE: Questions about stacking limits (11/30/2012 8:15:24 PM)

I have many pens and pencils that can't spell worth a damn! My keyboard too... [:D]




Page: [1]

Valid CSS!




Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI
0.015625