RE: Case blue, Isokron(axis) vs Bonners (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Decisive Campaigns: Case Blue >> After Action Reports



Message


Isokron -> RE: Case blue, Isokron(axis) vs Bonners (11/5/2012 6:54:32 PM)

Turn 18:

Fair weather and my offensive is back. I liquidate the Rostov pocket killing about 50k troops while he turn on full sir Robin mode along the rest of the front so not much to report really.

[image]local://upfiles/42758/1E6BED7BF5EB46978A8D86BF021FDF77.jpg[/image]




Isokron -> RE: Case blue, Isokron(axis) vs Bonners (11/6/2012 5:39:22 PM)

Turn 19:

In the north I have been ordered to take two towns on the railroad northwest from stalingrad so I guess I can as well take the whole thing.

In the center he seems to be preparing to defend the don in front of Stalingrad so there might be one last big battle perhaps.

In the south there is still large undefended areas which might allow me to cut off some of his last defenders.

[image]local://upfiles/42758/F6C13D8E76B8418D8C7D7F2DB404D10B.jpg[/image]




Isokron -> RE: Case blue, Isokron(axis) vs Bonners (11/11/2012 7:07:51 PM)

Turn 29: Stavka capitulates

I didn't post the last turns since the game was already decided, check Bonners AAR if you want to see them.

I guess the major strategic mistake I did in this game was that I had a clearly formulated plan to try to encircle him either by route A or route B. But when it became time to decide I tried doing both and failed at both. The plan was probably not going to work anyway but that really put the nail in the coffin for it. Luckily he did some mistakes to and I managed to get at least some surrounded armies from it.

Other than that I don't think I did any huge blunders although I did lot of small tactical mistakes mostly to do with unit move ordering etc.





Bonners -> RE: Case blue, Isokron(axis) vs Bonners (11/11/2012 7:34:23 PM)

Cheers for the game again Isokron, totally out played me, literally from turn two and as you said, I reckon the game was probably decided about turn four. I'd be interested in your opinion on the dismissal rule. I think in my next PBEM that I will play with the dismissal rule on, because that way once the game has reached its inevitable conclusion there is no option to carry on. In this game I was carrying on because I was trying to give you a game, and it sounds like you were doing the same for me; whereas in fact the game was effectively over as a contest.

Looking back at my AAR that would have been roughly about 7th August, so up to that point I would've had to defend my lines rather than carry on retreating as the no step back order was causing my prestige to fall.

I reckon for my next game I wouldnt play with any house rules apart from one. I would leave the German player with freedom to advance in the north of the map as long as they dont use the north edge of the map to complete any encirclements.




Keunert -> RE: Case blue, Isokron(axis) vs Bonners (11/12/2012 11:33:25 AM)

Congratulations on your win Isokron!
and also thumbs up for Bonners to avoid the huge center pocket.




wallas -> RE: Case blue, Isokron(axis) vs Bonners (11/13/2012 10:27:38 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Bonners

I'd be interested in your opinion on the dismissal rule. I think in my next PBEM that I will play with the dismissal rule on, because that way once the game has reached its inevitable conclusion there is no option to carry on.


Best feature of the game imo, and your missing out much not using it.




Bonners -> RE: Case blue, Isokron(axis) vs Bonners (11/13/2012 10:36:34 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: wallas


quote:

ORIGINAL: Bonners

I'd be interested in your opinion on the dismissal rule. I think in my next PBEM that I will play with the dismissal rule on, because that way once the game has reached its inevitable conclusion there is no option to carry on.


Best feature of the game imo, and your missing out much not using it.


I was thinking that, in my game with Olivier I'm fairly certain we've got it on, have to check with him as he set it up. However, in my game with Reconvert the Trappenthingy game it is off. If we'd had it on, unless I misunderstand the rule he would have been dismissed on 3rd June for having zero prestige for more than three turns. It is not like he turned tail either, he fought really hard on the offensive in the early turns and if anything he is having the better of the game.

So yes, I am in favour, but it may need some fine tuning for some scenarios?




Page: <<   < prev  1 [2]

Valid CSS!




Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI
2.001953E-02