A Military Question from a non-military person (Full Version)

All Forums >> [General] >> General Discussion

radic202 -> A Military Question from a non-military person (9/17/2012 12:00:35 AM)

Hey Gang:

I am not a military expert in anyway, actually I look up to all of you for some advice every now and then or read some of the awesome threads you all talk about (that thread on WW2 Italian warplanes is till by far my favorite) but my 11 year old nephew is doing a small school project of tanks and came across this picture whom he asked me this question:

Is that a barrel of gasoline on the back of the tank? And is that not stupid as one single shot form a rifle would send the tank in flames etc....He has a point and I being no connaisseur of tanks said I would ask the only people I know who can give us a straight answer.

So from me and my nephew Jonathan, thanks in advance gang!

[image][IMG]http://i568.photobucket.com/albums/ss123/radic202/T62vol1profiles.jpg[/IMG][/image]

sulla05 -> RE: A Military Question from a non-military person (9/17/2012 12:34:58 AM)

They look like T-62s and I have seen more pics with a diesel tank on the back.

In normal operation tanks used to have gas cans strung all over them when not in enemy contact.

Joe D. -> RE: A Military Question from a non-military person (9/17/2012 12:48:43 AM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: sulla05

... In normal operation tanks used to have gas cans strung all over them when not in enemy contact.

In WW II, Soviet tanks had troops strung all over them as they drove into combat!
A highly hazardous ride.

Jeffrey H. -> RE: A Military Question from a non-military person (9/17/2012 4:16:44 AM)

Wikipedia says they are option fuel drums.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/T-62

2ndACR -> RE: A Military Question from a non-military person (9/17/2012 4:24:27 AM)