Dumb rules question. (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames



Message


Ur_Vile_WEdge -> Dumb rules question. (7/19/2012 1:16:00 AM)

Sorry to bother you guys with such a triviality, but I'm away from my rulebooks atm.


Does anyone know if you can do a groundstrike, and then have the bomber return to a different hex than it came from? Or do you have to return to the same hex?


Best wishes,
Ur_Vile_Wedge




christo -> RE: Dumb rules question. (7/19/2012 2:00:35 AM)

Definately can land at any legal hex within range after completion on any mission.




michaelbaldur -> RE: Dumb rules question. (7/19/2012 3:50:46 AM)


you can always download a free rule book from the net ..

when you bye the game you have already bought the rights to download the rule book




Joseignacio -> RE: Dumb rules question. (7/19/2012 7:43:59 AM)

You can land anywhere else in range, controlled by you (or friendly countries, except for what may be restricted by FTC if any restriction about this).




Shannon V. OKeets -> RE: Dumb rules question. (7/19/2012 6:43:10 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Ur_Vile_WEdge

Sorry to bother you guys with such a triviality, but I'm away from my rulebooks atm.


Does anyone know if you can do a groundstrike, and then have the bomber return to a different hex than it came from? Or do you have to return to the same hex?


Best wishes,
Ur_Vile_Wedge


Land based air units can return-to-base to any legal hex. There are a bunch of rules about what is legal: stacking, hex control, Foreign Troop Commitment, etc. You also should worry about "using up" a hex that is the only valid return-to-base hex for another air unit that is flying a mission. For instance, A with a range of 3 flies its maximum distance to a target; B with a range of 10 flies 5 hexes to the same target. If B returns to base first and chooses A's point of origin, then A might not have a valid return-to-base hex.

Carrier based air units use a different set of rules. They have to return to base to a carrier on which they can legally stack, that is in the same sea area and the same section box as the carrier from which they flew the mission. For example, if you left from a carrier in the 3 section box, then you cannot return to one in the 2 section box.




Joseignacio -> RE: Dumb rules question. (7/20/2012 7:57:20 AM)


quote:

Carrier based air units use a different set of rules. They have to return to base to a carrier on which they can legally stack, that is in the same sea area and the same section box as the carrier from which they flew the mission. For example, if you left from a carrier in the 3 section box, then you cannot return to one in the 2 section box.


Wow! Didn't know that




Shannon V. OKeets -> RE: Dumb rules question. (7/21/2012 2:26:56 AM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio


quote:

Carrier based air units use a different set of rules. They have to return to base to a carrier on which they can legally stack, that is in the same sea area and the same section box as the carrier from which they flew the mission. For example, if you left from a carrier in the 3 section box, then you cannot return to one in the 2 section box.


Wow! Didn't know that

When writing the code for the rules, I am careful about making sure I understand them.

Of course even then I make a lot of mistakes - which gives the beta testers opportunities to jump all over me pointing out my errors. At this point I am pretty good at understanding the rules. My weaknesses are with rules that have changed over the years and those which are ambiguous with a final interpretation having been thrashed out through long discussions with the beta testers/rules gurus. Especially difficult for me are those which were coded (correctly) as part of CWIF but then ADG has changed the rule so I needed to rewrite the code. It's difficult to say what color a chameleon is when it keeps changing color.




christo -> RE: Dumb rules question. (7/21/2012 3:49:27 PM)

Steve

Heve you ever contemplated a WIFCON
be it
-australia
-usa
-europe??





Shannon V. OKeets -> RE: Dumb rules question. (7/22/2012 12:45:44 AM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: christo

Steve

Heve you ever contemplated a WIFCON
be it
-australia
-usa
-europe??



Pretty busy at the moment.

If I showed up at a WIFCon while MWIF is sill unfinished, I would need to bring at least 1 bodyguard.

---

I did play in several mini-tournaments at (board) war game conventions in the NY-Washington corridor 30 or so years ago. I made the top table after the first round and got "Best Italy" in a Diplomacy tournament (49 players) by holding onto 2 units at the end of the second round's game. I wasn't all that happy with drawing Italy in the second round, having to play against 6 other guys who also had won in the first round - then Austria moved for an all-out attack on me in the first turn, ... Sorry, you have to know the game Diplomacy fairly well to understand what all that means.[:(] On the other hand, playing (just) Italy in WIF is roughly comparable.[:D]




Centuur -> RE: Dumb rules question. (7/22/2012 9:07:21 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets


quote:

ORIGINAL: christo

Steve

Heve you ever contemplated a WIFCON
be it
-australia
-usa
-europe??



Pretty busy at the moment.

If I showed up at a WIFCon while MWIF is sill unfinished, I would need to bring at least 1 bodyguard.

---

I did play in several mini-tournaments at (board) war game conventions in the NY-Washington corridor 30 or so years ago. I made the top table after the first round and got "Best Italy" in a Diplomacy tournament (49 players) by holding onto 2 units at the end of the second round's game. I wasn't all that happy with drawing Italy in the second round, having to play against 6 other guys who also had won in the first round - then Austria moved for an all-out attack on me in the first turn, ... Sorry, you have to know the game Diplomacy fairly well to understand what all that means.[:(] On the other hand, playing (just) Italy in WIF is roughly comparable.[:D]

Yes, playing Italy in Diplomacy is usually not a lot of fun. Almost all good Austrian players tend to go against the Italians ASAP...




Ur_Vile_WEdge -> RE: Dumb rules question. (7/23/2012 2:08:03 PM)

Thanks for all the responses guys :)

Actually, the original situation that sparked the question was I was contemplating doing some ground support from a few extended range bombers for an attack that didn't actually need their help as a kind of "free action" rebase to get them closer to the front line.




brian brian -> RE: Dumb rules question. (7/23/2012 5:40:19 PM)

I've long hoped you could come to WiFCon ... just to kick back and play the game for a change.




Ur_Vile_WEdge -> RE: Dumb rules question. (8/8/2012 2:08:12 AM)

Hope I'm not breaking any taboos against necrothreadcy, but I had two more questions that came up.


A) Japan is at war with China, and nobody else. China surrenders. When Japan goes to war again, do the MIL (outside of the ones who are reserves) have to be rebuilt, or will they come back for free when war resumes?


B) Italy is at war with France but not the CW. Germany is at war with both. Can an Italian TRS carry a German unit through either Gibraltar or Suez.



Any help would be greatly appreciated [&o]




paulderynck -> RE: Dumb rules question. (8/8/2012 6:40:34 AM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: Ur_Vile_WEdge

Hope I'm not breaking any taboos against necrothreadcy, but I had two more questions that came up.


A) Japan is at war with China, and nobody else. China surrenders. When Japan goes to war again, do the MIL (outside of the ones who are reserves) have to be rebuilt, or will they come back for free when war resumes?


B) Italy is at war with France but not the CW. Germany is at war with both. Can an Italian TRS carry a German unit through either Gibraltar or Suez.



Any help would be greatly appreciated [&o]

A) From the 2008 Errata: "When a major power reverts to neutrality, any on-map MIL are placed in the reserve pool instead of the force pool, and thereafter treated as regular reserves."

B) Yes.

Edit: The above are the ADG WiFFE rules and B) should work in MWiF. I can't recall for sure if the Errata on MILs is in MWiF, but I think it is.




Shannon V. OKeets -> RE: Dumb rules question. (8/9/2012 3:29:02 AM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: brian brian

I've long hoped you could come to WiFCon ... just to kick back and play the game for a change.

Well, thanks for the invite.[:)]

But I don't believe that the players WIFCons "just kick back".[>:] Unless I am mistaken they all attend to kick butt.[sm=Evil-210.gif]


[:D]




Shannon V. OKeets -> RE: Dumb rules question. (8/9/2012 3:33:34 AM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

quote:

ORIGINAL: Ur_Vile_WEdge

Hope I'm not breaking any taboos against necrothreadcy, but I had two more questions that came up.


A) Japan is at war with China, and nobody else. China surrenders. When Japan goes to war again, do the MIL (outside of the ones who are reserves) have to be rebuilt, or will they come back for free when war resumes?


B) Italy is at war with France but not the CW. Germany is at war with both. Can an Italian TRS carry a German unit through either Gibraltar or Suez.



Any help would be greatly appreciated [&o]

A) From the 2008 Errata: "When a major power reverts to neutrality, any on-map MIL are placed in the reserve pool instead of the force pool, and thereafter treated as regular reserves."

B) Yes.

Edit: The above are the ADG WiFFE rules and B) should work in MWiF. I can't recall for sure if the Errata on MILs is in MWiF, but I think it is.

Note the distinction between Mil units that are on-map and those that are off-map. The off-map units (i.e., in the Force Pool) were destroyed in combat, hence they remain in the Force Pool and have to be rebuilt when the country next goes to war. Meanwhile the ones on-map (probably idle slackers in the rear) get to return home to their civilian life and await their next call-up.




Ur_Vile_WEdge -> RE: Dumb rules question. (8/9/2012 6:20:20 PM)

Many thanks Paulderynck and our great builder :)But my MIL are glorious crusaders who are crushing opposition before them, not idle slackers!




paulderynck -> RE: Dumb rules question. (8/10/2012 6:17:14 PM)

It's amazing how often one of them charges headlong in the lead of the assaulting legions! I'm sure the two buck, one turn rejuvenation has nothing to do with it.




Ur_Vile_WEdge -> RE: Dumb rules question. (8/10/2012 7:25:34 PM)

I'm not so sure, I thought it was due to the joint exercises they do with the aligned minors. For some reason, those guys always seem to be at the most dangerous spots of the battlefield, and then when they pass it on to the MIL......




Centuur -> RE: Dumb rules question. (8/10/2012 9:45:48 PM)

MIL = Cannonflodder... Especially the ones with good combat factors...




michaelbaldur -> RE: Dumb rules question. (8/11/2012 6:21:01 AM)


for that reason I like the first loss mot,mec or arm rule in 2d10. it forces the player to pick blitz units doing blitz.

and it give the player a reason to build all mot division to use as cannon fodder




warspite1 -> RE: Dumb rules question. (9/5/2012 9:44:37 PM)

Apologies because I am confused and would appreciate some help!!

19.4 Minor Country Units

Setting up

4th Para

Set up on the map each of the minor's naval units that has a date on the back that is at least 2 years earlier except those sunk prior to the start of the scenario. For example, in the Global War campaign, if your opponent declares war on Spain in 1940, you would set up all the Spanish ships that have 1938 or earlier on the back of their counter except for the Espana.

Queries:

1. Why does the example single out Espana only and not Jaime I and Baleares? I assume this is just an error?
2. What happens to these three ships? Are they a) removed from the game (i.e. they are only ever used with Days of Decision) or b) Placed in the Force Pool?
3. What is the correct treatment for the Mexican Anauhac? This ship has no sunk date on the back of the counter (although in real life she was discarded in 1938). I assume that notwithstanding her real life fate, if for example, Mexico enters the war in 1941, she is placed on the map (because she has no sunk date on the counter)?




Orm -> RE: Dumb rules question. (9/5/2012 10:40:59 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: warspite1

Apologies because I am confused and would appreciate some help!!

19.4 Minor Country Units

Setting up

4th Para

Set up on the map each of the minor's naval units that has a date on the back that is at least 2 years earlier except those sunk prior to the start of the scenario. For example, in the Global War campaign, if your opponent declares war on Spain in 1940, you would set up all the Spanish ships that have 1938 or earlier on the back of their counter except for the Espana.

Queries:

1. Why does the example single out Espana only and not Jaime I and Baleares? I assume this is just an error?
2. What happens to these three ships? Are they a) removed from the game (i.e. they are only ever used with Days of Decision) or b) Placed in the Force Pool?
3. What is the correct treatment for the Mexican Anauhac? This ship has no sunk date on the back of the counter (although in real life she was discarded in 1938). I assume that notwithstanding her real life fate, if for example, Mexico enters the war in 1941, she is placed on the map (because she has no sunk date on the counter)?


1) This is just an error. I suspect that Espana was the only Spanish ship included in WIF that had a sunk date at the time that the rule was written.

2) The answer is that they go into the force pool after you add the minors units to the force pool.

3) If she has no sunk date then she is placed on the map. But I do suspect that this is an error and that she should have a sunk date. Anyone know if the latest version of this counter has a sunk date?


RAC: 19.4 Minor country units
....
After a minor country has aligned with you, you can choose to add its units (those not yet set-up) to your major power’s force pools. You can do this at any time while the minor is not conquered (incomplete or complete) but, once you do, its units must always go into your force pools as they become available. From then on, you can only voluntarily remove them from your pools by production (see 13.6.5), or scrapping (see 13.6.9).





warspite1 -> RE: Dumb rules question. (9/6/2012 6:16:00 AM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Orm

quote:

ORIGINAL: warspite1

Apologies because I am confused and would appreciate some help!!

19.4 Minor Country Units

Setting up

4th Para

Set up on the map each of the minor's naval units that has a date on the back that is at least 2 years earlier except those sunk prior to the start of the scenario. For example, in the Global War campaign, if your opponent declares war on Spain in 1940, you would set up all the Spanish ships that have 1938 or earlier on the back of their counter except for the Espana.

Queries:

1. Why does the example single out Espana only and not Jaime I and Baleares? I assume this is just an error?
2. What happens to these three ships? Are they a) removed from the game (i.e. they are only ever used with Days of Decision) or b) Placed in the Force Pool?
3. What is the correct treatment for the Mexican Anauhac? This ship has no sunk date on the back of the counter (although in real life she was discarded in 1938). I assume
that notwithstanding her real life fate, if for example, Mexico enters the war in 1941, she is placed on the map (because she has no sunk date on the counter)?


1) This is just an error. I suspect that Espana was the only Spanish ship included in WIF that had a sunk date at the time that the rule was written.

2) The answer is that they go into the force pool after you add the minors units to the force pool.

3) If she has no sunk date then she is placed on the map. But I do suspect that this is an error and that she should have a sunk date. Anyone know if the latest version of this counter has a sunk date?

RAC: 19.4 Minor country units
....
After a minor country has aligned with you, you can choose to add its units (those not yet set-up) to your major power’s force pools. You can do this at any time while the minor is not conquered (incomplete or complete) but, once you do, its units must always go into your force pools as they become available. From then on, you can only voluntarily remove them from your pools by production (see 13.6.5), or scrapping (see 13.6.9).

warspite1

Thanks Orm. I will amend a few of the write ups accordingly. It seems counter intuitive that ships such as Espana are placed in the Force Pool (after all, they have already been sunk!) but at least I now have the correct answer. [:)]

I will assume that Anahuac is part of any Campaign game.




Orm -> RE: Dumb rules question. (9/6/2012 10:09:01 AM)

I asume all will scrap Espana as soon as she is added to the force pool (if they play with srapping units).




Page: [1]

Valid CSS!




Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI
2.734375E-02