Old PacWar Utilities and BB Messages

Pacific War is a free update of the old classic, available in our Downloads section.
RayM

Old PacWar Utilities and BB Messages

Post by RayM »

To the Pacwar veterans.

I'm new to Pacwar and discovered the old GEnie BB files from 1993-96 as well as two utilities: PWREPORT and InsidePW. Are these utilities still useful and usable after all these years? I was wondering if they would work with the Matrix Pacwar 2.2.

To all new Pacwar players:

I would recommend that new players take a look at these old BB files. The hints, ideas, and descriptions of how things work within Pacwar makes them very valuble sources of information and insight into Pacwar (even though the versions covered are not the Matrix version).

I found this information via the Naval Warfare Simulation site and clicked the _Pacific War_ link,that then shows links to three Pacwar web sites. Highly recommended.

Does anyone know if these sites are still active? Or has the Pacwar community moved over to this site? Just wondering.
Mike Wood

Post by Mike Wood »

Hello...

Any of the older editors or report generators should work fine with the latest version of Pacific War. When we reworked the executable, we intentionally left the data structures the same, so as to maintain downward compatability with older third party software and existing OBC variants.
Originally posted by RayM:
To the Pacwar veterans.
I'm new to Pacwar and discovered the old GEnie BB files from 1993-96 as well as two utilities: PWREPORT and InsidePW. Are these utilities still useful and usable after all these years? I was wondering if they would work with the Matrix Pacwar 2.2.
To all new Pacwar players:
I would recommend that new players take a look at these old BB files. The hints, ideas, and descriptions of how things work within Pacwar makes them very valuble sources of information and insight into Pacwar (even though the versions covered are not the Matrix version).