Steel Panthers World at War is still the best

SPWaW is a tactical squad-level World War II game on single platoon or up to an entire battalion through Europe and the Pacific (1939 to 1945).

Moderator: MOD_SPWaW

magresh

Steel Panthers World at War is still the best

Post by magresh »

I have been playing wargames for a long time, since 1970. I discovered SPWAW only three years ago and loved it. Bought all the megacampaigns. I play other games, boardgames, the usual pc games, some playstation, fantasy, sims, all kinds.
Not too long ago there was some excitement about a replacement game that would be a sort of greatly enhanced SPWAW. I noticed that the first new game would be a limited theatre, limited time frame, but it would be expanded eventually to sort of equal SPWAW's broad spectrum of countries, units, theatres, time frames and so on. That is probably going to happen one day far in the future. Right now the game is so multi-faceted, so varied in its scope that it is going to be playable for years to come.
I have come to the conclusion that it is the greatest wargame I have played. I love playing Uncommon Valor, now War in the Pacific and the Combat Mission series. Hearts of Iron and Victoria gave me the marvelous option to play any country at a detail level that could be overwhelming yet still fun. Yet after a couple of months I come back to SPWAW and find so much left to enjoy. To all those who have put this together, the game itself, the campaigns, the scenarios, the mods, all of it, and to the guys who kept SPWAW alive, Matrixgames, THANK YOU for your work. You have allowed me to not just play with history, but to see history as it probably unfolded on the battlefield. I will continue to support your games, purchase many, probably enjoy them all, but I will be playing Steel Panthers World at War until you one day make its complete succesor. Thanks again.
Hexed Gamer

RE: Steel Panthers World at War is still the best

Post by Hexed Gamer »