Artillery micromanagement

Panther Games' Highway to the Reich revolutionizes wargaming with its pausable, continuous time game play and advanced artificial intelligence. Command like a real General, under real time pressures to achieve real objectives on a real map all within the fog of war. Issue orders to your powerful AI controlled subordinates or take total control of every unit. Fight the world's most advanced AI opponent or match wits against your friends online or over a LAN. Highway to the Reich covers all four battles from Operation Market Garden, including Arnhem, Nijmegen, Eindhoven and the 30th Corps breakout from Neerpelt.

Moderator: Arjuna

TheVen

Artillery micromanagement

Post by TheVen »

My first post here... I've been playing for a few months and have gotten through the historical Nijmegan, Arnhem, and Eindhoven as Allies with marginal or decisive victories. So I got the hang of it but I'm sure there is room for improvement in many areas, especially in multi. The thing I have had the most trouble figuring out is the effectiveness of artillery when left to their organic units versus taking control of each battery and telling it where to fire. I've tried both and haven't been convinced either way, so I tend to leave them attached and respond to fire missions through the AI. The only exception would be concentrating on a heavily defended objective or breaking up a large attack in the open. Any opinions? Any of you 4-star generals think it is a must to micromanage your artillery?

TheVen
stall84

RE: Artillery micromanagement

Post by stall84 »

I take personal control of the artillery most of the time, and doing so usually guarantees your going to do a bunch of damage. However, sometimes I leave it with the unit it is attached to, to give it a more 'real' feeling.

A question about Artiller in HTTR..... Are "treebursts" implemented in game?