Need help with MC SE battle

Discuss likes and dislikes, get help and talk about MC tactics, AAR's, etc

Moderator: MOD_SPWaW

S-type

Need help with MC SE battle

Post by S-type »

I recently started playing Screaming Eagles, and choose the 327 glider regiment. The battle I need help with is a mission to get some British supply units thru a map.

I am advised to move up a road with my engineers in front to clear the road.

I have played this battle 4 times and gotten a draw, but I have no idea how to improve on that. The battle is supposed to last 15 turns, but ends after 8, and in that time I find it impossible to fight my way thru the german forces and keep all the supply units alive at the same time.

Has anyone achived a win in this battle, and if so, what tactic did you use?
plloyd

RE: Need help with MC SE battle

Post by plloyd »

Did you find the 25lbrs? They are very handy for quick fire support. Move them up and unload,then leap frog them forward to avoid some of the counter battery fire. Use you air support to kill the STGs that come from the NW. The biggest thing to keep in mind is getting to the exit hex at the end of the road.

Pile everything you can into that hex, every turn that you can. That means taking out, or smoking, that 88 behind the woods. Don't unload anything in the exit hex until after everything which can move has gotten there. Unload just before you end the turn, use the HQ screen to avoid mistakes.

You will get most of you points when your units exit the map. Loaded units do not give you any points. Again unload the transport in the exit hex just before you end the turn. This will give you another 2500 to 3000 points, depending on time and casualties.
If you find yourself in a fair fight, you didn't plan your mission properly.
Voriax

Post by Voriax »

Loaded unit _should_ give points, at least they used to. The loaded unit does not show in the point list when exiting but the carrier unit's point value is increased.

Voriax