Help to start

Uncommon Valor: Campaign for the South Pacific covers the campaigns for New Guinea, New Britain, New Ireland and the Solomon chain.

Moderators: Joel Billings, Tankerace, siRkid

bostonrpgmania

Help to start

Post by bostonrpgmania »

I got this game a while ago when my (newly developed) interest in wargaming begun without knowing that this is grogonard level game.
I am still not an expert war gamer but I am inclined to learn abut the game again.
I know some already suggested that playing PBEM would be the best but I need to start from the SCRATCH.
All the information provided in the game overwhelms me and as some agree, manual isnt the best thing to start with
Can somebody please recommend good tutorial scenarios or good strategy guide or whatever to help newb start without feeling overwhelmed?
crsutton

RE: Help to start

Post by crsutton »

Hi,

Welcome to the club. You can do searches for old strings in this forum to find many of the answers to your questions. Unfortunatey, there are no good tutorials and the manual is helpful but leaves a lot of the detail out. Don't be shy about asking here as well.

You can also visits Spooky' web site where there are some aids to help you there.

First and foremost, if you have not done so, do some reading on the subject. I really found that my historical knowledge of the South Pacific Campaign helped in my game play. That is, when in doubt, do what they historically did and you can not get into too much trouble. Start with "Guadacanal" by Richard Frank, then go on to books that cover a broader scope and material that cover the naval and carrier operations during the first two years of the war.

If you want to play a small scenario, for practice and hints, just let me know and I can run you through one.
I am the Holy Roman Emperor and am above grammar.

Sigismund of Luxemburg
bostonrpgmania

Post by bostonrpgmania »

Thank you for your advice