Carrier Bug

Uncommon Valor: Campaign for the South Pacific covers the campaigns for New Guinea, New Britain, New Ireland and the Solomon chain.

Moderators: Joel Billings, Tankerace, siRkid

foliveti

Carrier Bug

Post by foliveti »

I am new to PBEM and have come across what seems to be a bug in loading aircraft onto carriers. I am playing as the allied player. I started the game with a disaster at Coral Sea. Both of my carriers were severely damaged with the Lexington eventually sinking and the Yorktown limping back to Cairns. The aircraft which had been on strikes or flying CAP scattered to various air bases as subunits. After I had fixed the flotation damage in Port on the Yorktown I transferred one of the fighter subunits onto the Yorktown. Instead of an F-3-f being shown in the screen for this subunit a plane that looked a lot like an A-20 appeared on the carriers and it showed 0 aircraft. I then tried to transfer the main fighter group for the Yorktown back onto the ship. It would not let me do that. I played with it for a few turns. I could not transfer the sub unit with 0 planes off of the Yorktown nor could I transfer the fighter group back to the Yorktown. Since the carrier had 35 system damage, I eventually gave up and sent the Yorktown back to Pearl Harbor. Its fighter group is doing a fine job in Port Moresby, but what happens when the carrier comes back? Will it still be impossible to load the real fighters onto the plane. Was there any way to have fixed this or do I just need to keep sub units off of carriers in the future?
Frank
barnacle bob

RE: Carrier Bug

Post by barnacle bob »

I too had A20s show up on a carrier. I saved the game, exited and restarted. worked for me. I was going to use them on a raid against Truk, but Dolittle was busy.

The powers that be are aware of this problem. I've seen it mentioned before.
barnacle bob

Post by barnacle bob »