Road to Kiev victory

Post descriptions of your brilliant victories and unfortunate defeats here.

Moderators: Joel Billings, Sabre21

CRW1940

Road to Kiev victory

Post by CRW1940 »

This is the second game I have ever achieved a victory in, and not one I expected to win either. I should note that so far I have only played this game on easy, and that when I do play, I don't use fog of war, and the reasons for these two options is because I am a beginner, I don't feel confident yet, and I am still trying to get the mechanics, and eventually I want to toy around a little with the HQ's and adding special squads and battalions to units.

I watched a tutorial by a youtuber named Strategy Gaming Dojo, and his multi video tutorials really helped me to understand overall tactics to use in the game to encircle units and get them to surrender. I was hesitant around the first few turns about whether I could pocket a lot of Red Army units, but I did around Lvov, Tarnopol, Zhitomir, and even Kiev. I managed to obliterate most of the Red Airforce on the first turn, so I didn't have to worry about them.

The first few turns I managed to pocket the soviets, so as I approach the final turn, they presented little resistance to me. I did let my panzers rest a turn or two, so I didn't deplete them of their oil.

One big thing I think I really could've done better was taking my time, and making sure that each army was not spread out, but together in a united front line, and I could've probably have moved up my Luftwaffe units later on in the game. I also did not use them to attack any cities like Poltava, Kharkov, Kiev, or Stalino, because I figured it only being 11 turns, the Soviets wouldn't be able to replace their units quickly.