Very disappointed! How to play this Game?

Uncommon Valor: Campaign for the South Pacific covers the campaigns for New Guinea, New Britain, New Ireland and the Solomon chain.

Moderators: Joel Billings, Tankerace, siRkid

Rolfor

Very disappointed! How to play this Game?

Post by Rolfor »

Hallo,

I am new to UV. I bought the Game last week here in Germany.

First: I played a lot of Wargames (Talons WF+EF, TOAW 1+2, TacOps, Airborn Aussault, CM 1+2, panzer camapaigns and a lot of others. And I have no Problems to get in. But after some hours with UV I must say:

1) I buy the Game today here in Germanys Media-Markt
On the Gamepackage there is no Hint, that the Game is complete in english, that the Handbock (120 pages) is complete in english. Just a 19 pages hintboock is in German! And If so: Why are not at least the Mission-Briefings translated? I am waiting for the german Version because my englisch is not the best ...

2) I understand nothing!
The ultrashort Tutorial is NO Tutorial and explains nothing!
The Handbook ist full of tables and micromanagement-Lists. I would like to print it out. But a Demoprint shows me, the writing is so small, that I can't read it on the paper. So I MUST read it on the Monitor ...

3) I search the Manual, the Forums and the Web. But I can't find a Beginner Guide, a Step by Step Explanation, a Demo Tour trough a complete Mission, with clear and exactly Orders, Examples.

4) I find not one simple "How to's": (and this belongs to every manual, that has the right to call so !!)

- How to play this game?
- What are the first Steps?
- How to arrange an Assault?
- How to build your Defense?
- How to ...

Yes! I Found many AAR's, but with hyroglyphical Lists of Units without Pictures , and without helpfull Hints. AAR's for People, who know's, how to play this Game. But not for Beginners.

Sorry Matrix, Sorry Developper!
Sure, you are great Wargame-Guys.
But If you don't manage, that Newbee's
have a comfortable "come in" in your