Invading Hawaii

Share your gameplay tips, secret tactics and fabulous strategies with fellow gamers here.

Moderators: wdolson, MOD_War-in-the-Pacific-Admirals-Edition

George Patton

Invading Hawaii

Post by George Patton »

I’ve never tried this before, but I’m wondering.

Is it worth it?
jdsrae

RE: Invading Hawaii

Post by jdsrae »

Depends on your reason for trying to capture it.
I’ve never tried it either as it doesn’t produce oil so there is no economic reason.
I’ve heard it can be done but it’s bloody.
Victory Points could be a reason.
It would need a huge commitment of troops, ships, airgroups, time, fuel and supplies which would slow down conquests elsewhere.
It could delay the allies if they had to take it back, assuming they would have to stop the daily VPs going to Japan while they held it.
So to be worth it the Japanese would then have to try and hold it for a reasonable period to impose delay and rack up VPs to offset any they lost trying to take it. Until the end of 43 or longer?
The allies could build up force on the west coast to take it back so it would delay them in the Pacific, but would they bypass it via Canton Island and SoPac?
Like the fish in the plastic bags at the end of Finding Nemo, once captured “now what?”.
Interested to hear from those who’ve either tried it or been on the receiving end.
Currently playing my first PBEM, no house rules Scenario 1 as IJ.
AAR link (no SolInvictus): https://www.matrixgames.com/forums/tm.asp?m=4684655
Anachro

Post by Anachro »

There have been past AARs that have done it, though I can't recall which at the moment. If I recall, the general consensus in those was that it was not worth it: it slows down Allied operations somewhat, but not enough to justify the cost to take and resupply the island. Allies can stage their invasions from the west coast.
"Now excuse me while I go polish my balls ..." - BBfanboy
JoV

Post by JoV »