Questions from potential buyer

This new stand alone release based on the legendary War in the Pacific from 2 by 3 Games adds significant improvements and changes to enhance game play, improve realism, and increase historical accuracy. With dozens of new features, new art, and engine improvements, War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition brings you the most realistic and immersive WWII Pacific Theater wargame ever!

Moderators: wdolson, MOD_War-in-the-Pacific-Admirals-Edition

JWW

Questions from potential buyer

Post by JWW »

Okay, I've looked at this game for years, but I've been turned off by the sheer immensity of it, even though I recognize it is something special. This holiday season, however, I bought WIF, another game I had looked at for years, and have been having fun playing it solo, against myself. I also had fun learning -- I'm still learning -- how to play. I enjoy the learning part. It is complex, but not nearly as much as this game, I fear. I also like spreadsheets, WIF style, WITE style, Distant Worlds style. I'm used to playing big games, but wonder about this one. So a few questions.

1. What would I need to be able to play it? The game. Updated. But I also read about the tracker. How important is that? And saw mention of updated AI files that seem complicated to install. So what would I need to play the game -- solo, because that is how I play. Can I just buy the game and update it and play? What more is necessary?

2. Even if I never try the full game, could I get $29 of enjoyment out of playing the smaller scenarios. Years ago I bought Uncommon Valor and had good fun with it for a while. For me $29 is not a lot of money. Learning how to run a scenario and playing it a few times and having fun with it would probably constitute $29 of fun from me.
BillBrown

RE: Questions from potential buyer

Post by BillBrown »

As for item #1, yes, you will need to install the game and update. You do not need anything else to play the game.