What Book Are You Reading at the moment?

Gamers can also use this forum to chat about any game related subject, news, rumours etc.

Moderator: maddog986

RFalvo69

RE: What Book Are You Reading at the moment?

Post by RFalvo69 »

The biography of Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson. Jobs was really a strange person. I watched the movie by Danny Boyle, and it does a good job in showing the flaws and the quirks of Jobs - even if the context is fictitious (the backstage of three products’ launch).
"Yes darling, I served in the Navy for eight years. I was a cook..."
"Oh dad... so you were a God-damned cook?"

(My 10 years old daughter after watching "The Hunt for Red October")
cpdeyoung

Post by cpdeyoung »

@Wodin

I saw Grey Bastards on the new books shelf at my public library and remembered your recommendation.

This book is every bit as good as you indicate. I, like you, am waiting for a continuation. The book is profane, and vulgar, but if you are an adult go for it. The author himself says it will be years before he lets his young son read it. It is a dense story, but the author does a good job of keeping the threads weaving. I found it easy to care about the characters.

Give it a try, maybe especially, if it a genre you do not normally read. Fantasy is not an area I am well read in, but I will be watching for this author.

Chuck
warspite1

Post by warspite1 »

Annoyingly I'm having to temporarily shelve Shattered Sword for a couple of weeks or so. I've ordered (and should have delivered on Tuesday) Churchill's Secret War: The British Empire and the Ravaging of India during World War II.
Now Maitland, now's your time!

Duke of Wellington to 1st Guards Brigade - Waterloo 18 June 1815
HeinzBaby

Post by HeinzBaby »

ARMAGEDDON
The Battle for Germany, 1944-1945
Sir Max Hastings Author.
I've read a few of his books: Falklands, Bomber Command and Overlord.