When we will see the map-making manual?

exsonic01

When we will see the map-making manual?

Post by exsonic01 »

I know devs are busy, but it would be great if AB provide at least early version of map-making manual. This will be greatly helpful for current modders and future modders.

I can help with QGIS, but I'm not sure about GIMP (or photoshop) and AB map editor. I'm not that good at GIMP or Photoshop, and I'm learning about AB map editor.

All happy new year!
tebeinteresno

RE: When we will see the map-making manual?

Post by tebeinteresno »

I hope for this or next week. Sorry.
Now I'm on holidays with family so its difficult to get together and finish it (I revised something in the tutorial, in this piece had to be redone)
you will need a gimp (or photoshop) at least only at the stage of initial terrain data, but technically I think it will be possible to somehow contrive and try to do it inside QGIS. but I think it will be some tricky.
If you download data from OSM in QGIS, then this vector shape can be cut out of a raster square, and you will receive raster data with transparency with the correct location relative to the relief. The only thing that remains is to correctly repaint the desired color so that the game understands that it is a forest, a river, a road, and so on. and this thing is most convenient to do in a graphic editor.
although it seems to me you can try to repaint this data directly into the QGIS
tebeinteresno

Post by tebeinteresno »

Here at least a palette of colors of different types of terrain.
Do not pay attention to the column "urban". We kind of got rid of this scheme.

Also
Paved road1 - Highway
Paved road2 - Minor road
Paved road3 - Regular road
Dirt road1 - regular dirt road
Dirt road2 - dirt road + tree row
stream - regular stream
stream (frozen) - stream + tree row
Attachments
terrain_palette.zip
(18.65 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
exsonic01

Post by exsonic01 »

ORIGINAL: tebeinteresno