Age of Exploration

Please post here for questions and discussion about modding for Strategic Command.
sPzAbt653

Age of Exploration

Post by sPzAbt653 »

The Age of Exploration, 1495-1700
Mr. Sipres has provided an excellent map of the Americas [mini-map seen below] and I have started working on forming geographic areas from the time period [Aztec Empire, Mayan Empire, The Amazon, etc.], creating new Resource Icons, Unit Icons and Map Graphics [some of which can be seen below at right]. Some of this stuff and some of the rules are being taken from the 1976 SPI game 'Conquistador', but this won't be a clone of that due to differences in the game engines.
Hopefully at some point in the future we will end up with a scenario that will be a fun change of pace, something to take a break every now and then from tanks and planes [as the original game was to me]. I'm not an expert on the subject matter so I'm doing a lot of Wiki-ing as I go, and I am also no expert at SC, having only been around for the past two years. So all contributions and suggestions will be welcome. [:)]

Attachments
jpeg8.jpg
jpeg8.jpg (187.32 KiB) Viewed 482 times
PHalen

RE: Age of Exploration

Post by PHalen »

Indeed an interesting change of pace & scenery!
Great initiative!
The SC scale should work well for this era.
Looking forward to see what eventually may come out.
sPzAbt653

Post by sPzAbt653 »

Yes, we'll see what might come out of this [:)]

One thing interesting so far is the lack of details concerning where all the Gold and Loot that the Spanish took came from. I've been reading many sites on Wiki that have to do with Spain conquering and looting, but except for Tenochtitlan in the Aztec Empire I haven't come across any specific sites. I guess the stuff was everywhere!