Holding Rostov

Post descriptions of your brilliant successes and unfortunate demises.
mssm45

Holding Rostov

Post by mssm45 »

Hello,

I am a DCB veteran and I wonder if there is a real chance for the Soviet to hold Rostov.

Based on my recent experience playing against a very experienced player, I am now under the impression that it is almost mission impossible for the Soviet.

Once Kiev has fallen and the bridge repaired, it is almost only plain terrain until Rostov.

I noticed that Soviet conscript divisions, even in defence posture, don't have a chance to hold the ground against the German armies.

Even if the German decides to send the PZG1 to AGC, the infantry AGs are enough to take Rostov before Christmas.

Am I missing something in my analysis? I would like to get the designer view regarding this as I am really banging my head against the wall.

Thank you
AKA Belgavox
Erzac

RE: Holding Rostov

Post by Erzac »

It's very much dependent on how the AGC is faring. AGS pretty much need at least 2, optimally more, armies to be redirected there from the center to mount a decent enough defense.

Even though it's mostly plains after Kiev, the Dnepropetrovsk bridge needs to be taken or the Germans will face supply issues around Kharkov. Getting a regular army to defend that is big part of defending the south.

In short, German success in the AGC is directly tied to how easy/hard it will be to defend AGN/AGS, as it ties or frees up the vital regular army reinforcements.
mssm45

Post by mssm45 »

Would supply through the Kiev bridge not be sufficient (Kiev-Kursk-Kharkov railway)?

Even with 2 or 3 more armies in the South, how can you hold when facing a 6/1 loss ratio?
Also the German receives mobilization reinforcements.
AKA Belgavox
Erzac

Post by Erzac »