"Executive Orders" - Which game for the final battles?

Gamers can also use this forum to chat about any game related subject, news, rumours etc.

Moderator: maddog986

RFalvo69

RE: "Executive Orders" - Which game for the final battles?

Post by RFalvo69 »

ORIGINAL: FOARP

Red Storm Rising was by far his best. The Sum of All Fears probably second best but still very good. Executive Orders was certainly a good effort.

To me Executive Orders was a page turner because there is always something going on. The reader, of course, must accept that there are more things happening to Jack Ryan in six months than to fifteen previous Presidents in all their mandates combined [:'(]

Red Storm Rising basically is to wargaming what The Lord of the Rings was for role-playing.
"Yes darling, I served in the Navy for eight years. I was a cook..."
"Oh dad... so you were a God-damned cook?"

(My 10 years old daughter after watching "The Hunt for Red October")
FOARP

Post by FOARP »

ORIGINAL: Red2112

@FOARP...

Thanks for saving me some time. I was at the beginnign of the book luckly enough. Bought it real cheap so nothing wasted. How´s "Ops Center State of Seige"?. Bought that too some time ago, same deal cheap but haven´t red it yet.

Red

Haven't read it so can't say. Stopped reading Clancy after slogging all the way through the Bear and the Dragon (all 1,100 pages) only to find he'd crammed all the fighting into the last bit of the novel and it was all resolved by a Deux Ex Machina-style ending.

The real pity is that no-one is writing good techno-thrillers nowadays. Those that try over-use certain tropes (enemies effortless defeated through hacking their computers, extremely improbable conflicts like US v EU or a Chinese invasion of the US) and do not write combat that reads realistically. Instead I've been scrapping the barrel of what was written in the 1980s (Red Thrust and Red Army, both written in 1988/89, weren't too bad)