Absolute Beginner's Intro to Lua Part 1: GetWeather and SetWeather

All discussions & material related to Command's Lua interface

Moderators: RoryAndersonCDT, michaelm75au, angster, MOD_Command

Rory Noonan

Absolute Beginner's Intro to Lua Part 1: GetWeather and SetWeather

Post by Rory Noonan »

Below is a quick intro to Lua in Command for the Lua beginner with absolutely zero programming experience.

Some great (free) references for what I'm about to describe are:
Lua Programming Wikibook: https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Lua_Programming
Lua reference manual: https://www.lua.org/manual/5.3/
Command Lua Documentation: https://commandlua.github.io/index.html

The absolute first thing you need to know about Lua is input types. For the purposes of this quick guide, you only need to know two:

A string is a alphanumeric grouping of characters, and is enclosed in either single or double quotation marks (I am lazy and tend to use single quotations, there are some situations where this creates extra work so then I use double quotation marks - they are fully interchangable, just make sure to start and end a string with the same type)
example: 'Hello, world'

A number is just that, a number. You can perform math functions on numbers, and they are simply written as numbers (no need for quotation marks).
example: 5
example: 2 + 3

Now with that out of the way let's look at the entry for the GetWeather and SetWeather functions in the Command Lua Documentation.

https://commandlua.github.io/index.html ... GetWeather
ScenEdit_GetWeather ()
Get the current weather conditions.
Returns:

table Table of weather parameters [temp (average), rainfall, undercloud, seastate]

Usage:

ScenEdit_GetWeather()

So what does this mean? First of all, ScenEdit_GetWeather() is a function, which is like a precompiled set of instructions (in this case a precompiled set of instructions to return the weather data from a Command scenario).