EA (Europe Aflame 39-45) questions

Post new mods and scenarios here
jjdenver

EA (Europe Aflame 39-45) questions

Post by jjdenver »

Hi, feel free to post any questions you have about EA here. I have some to get started. I'm new to TOAW so lots of silly questions here perhaps.

1) I read over on gamesquad that there was an updated version of EA with some changes.
gamesquad new version of EA?
It made some changes to Canadians, adding a missing 15th Army Grp, limited sea asslts in arctic, and made lots of other changes. Is this the same version we have in TOAW4?

2) I read this post by Mantis on gamesquad:
"Finland is very similar (but even more telling) for the Russians. I have seen games end before the Russians and Germans even met, simply because the Red player was inexpereinced with the scenario and bled himself white. Can you believe over 100k light rifles squads destroyed, and Finland still standing strong? Funny thing about this one is that an experienced Axis player will hand a determined (but inexperienced) Russian player his head everytime. And this one truly is a game burner. Failure here = Axis Major Victory.

Try this on for size, if any of you are interested...

Load up a hotseat game, and have several indiviual Finn units dug in to fortified status, make them of various sizes. Stack a zillion Russians next to them all and attack. Look at the thousands of rifle squad losses you took from each battle, and 95% of the time, you will not take a single hex.

There is a 'trick' to unseating the Finns - the country can be taken in a very cost-effective manner. A player must know how, of course. It isn't really a trick either, rather a deeper understanding of how the game functions - it makes perfect sense in hindsight. It's is also a beautiful illustration of some of the frustrations a board gamer will face when learning the TOAW system.