How Do You Neutralize Airfields?

Share your best strategies and tactics with other players by posting them here.

Moderator: MOD_Command

Tester28

How Do You Neutralize Airfields?

Post by Tester28 »

I'm pretty new to using CMANO and I'm trying to figure out how to effectively attack airfields. I haven't found any detailed tutorials on this. If any exist I'd appreciate getting a link to them in addition to answering my questions here. I've been playing the Tutorial scenario "Uncle Mark's Tutorials - 2 - English Jets over Uganda, 1973" to get a handle on airstrikes and CAP. I'm still a novice at those things. One way I want to improve is by learning how to neutralize airfields. To do that I need to know how airfields work in CMANO. What is required for an airfield to operate? What needs to be damaged (or destroyed) for an airfield to stop working? For instance I'd assume you need an operable runway to launch planes. I've found destroying runways to be very difficult in the aforementioned scenario, as most of the 1,000 lbs bombs dropped seem to miss, and the ones that hit don't do enough damage to destroy the runway... much less the airfield's second runway! Is there a better way to neutralize the airfield than expending tons of ammunition on destroying the runway?

A better question I could ask would be: what role do each of the parts of an airfield serve in CMANO? Are there structures scenario editors often include that doesn't actually do anything in-game?

Edit: I should mention that I am currently playing v1.13, build 972.11.
Cik

RE: How Do You Neutralize Airfields?

Post by Cik »

the runway structures do exactly what you would think- that is exactly what they're supposed to do.

tarmac/parking spaces/helipads (etc.) store aircraft when re-arming, repairing or while inactive.

taxiways convey aircraft to runway access points and runways.

runway access points allow access to runway(s)

runways allow takeoff (technically some subcategories of taxiways do too)