Curiousity : IJN experts ?

Share your gameplay tips, secret tactics and fabulous strategies with fellow gamers here.

Moderators: wdolson, MOD_War-in-the-Pacific-Admirals-Edition

Macclan5

Curiousity : IJN experts ?

Post by Macclan5 »

Hey friends.

Admittedly I have no experience with the Imperial OOB nor mechanics.

But curiosity is begging me to ask some questions as I hope to learn. No need to give away all your trade secrets - but is the concept of 'traditional wisdom' out the window ?

(These are PBEM games tactics obviously not vs the AI; and each Allied player will react differently)

Recently in a number of Allied AARs I see some very interesting developments. Not to call out 1 AAR in particular but it appears to be more common - unusual timelines - and unusual choice of invasion sites. Now obviously a "historical start" vs not will influence the direction.

Further experienced IJN players may be experimenting; but this seems to be more common than I ever understood. Perhaps this is 'auto victory' influenced and I don't understand the potential well enough ????

What I thought is conventional Japanese wisdom:

1) Pearl (if historical); maybe a 2nd day pot shot just for fun.
2) Heavily bomb / invade Philippines and Manila/Clark et al. The sub/ship damage has greater long lasting impact than a few Pearl USN BBs that spend years in drydock upgrades anyway
3) Mersing Gambit
4) Get Palembang early (March 42); then DEI, worry about grinding down Singapore latter.
5) Go heavy or all out in China
6) Select next target: i.e. one of (i) push thru Burma for the Indian gambit, (ii) push through Darwin for the Oz Gambit, (iii) push through Noumea for the Deep South Pacific gambit, (iv) push through Midway / Pearl / Victoria for the west coast gambit.

What new :

1) IJN Players leaving Luzon untouched [&:] at least early. Can Luzon wait like Singapore ?