Logistics Question

Post new mods and scenarios here.

Moderator: MOD_Command

hasler

Logistics Question

Post by hasler »

I am new to the game and trying to learn the scenario editor. I am trying to figure out how to do proper logistics for a protracted scenario. I have noted that Ships will supply by returning to base or having a AOE/AO ship meet them, and that ship will automatically resupply its magazines when returning to port.

I have not found a way to do something similar to Air bases, and Ground units. Is Lua scripting the only way to conduct resupply operations on these? Base Resupply via Lua seems doable, but a large ground force via lua and all the checks for living units may be outside my skill set.

I have a vision right now of a scenario that combines the Sea battles in Red Storm Rising and Fleet Defender's North Sea Melee campaign, but in order to do that I need roughly 30 days of fighting, and red forces moving down Norway.
Gunner98

RE: Logistics Question

Post by Gunner98 »

hasler

That is an ambitious scenario for your first shot. I have built one that lasts 30+ days but I think I'm the only one that has - its not easy.

One way of getting around your basic question is to turn on 'unlimited magazines at air/naval bases'

The other methods are to start with enough ammo at each base to last the duration of the scenario - or via Lua, which is workable but on a scenario lasting 30 days may get tedious.

I would recommend however that you break the scenario into manageable bites, probably a half dozen scenarios all linked by the story line.

The only real downside of this is there is currently no way of transferring casualties from one scenario to another - but you can estimate and build a new start-state for each scenario.

If you check in the Community Pack, the first dozen or so Northern Fury replicate the campaign, if not the specific battles you're describing.

B
Check out our novel, Northern Fury: H-Hour!: http://northernfury.us/