General Modding Question

Post new mods and scenarios here.

Moderator: MOD_Flashpoint

wstraka

General Modding Question

Post by wstraka »

I'm new to scenario creation and I'm curious how when creating a force for a historic or even a hypothetical battle, how does one accurately represent the manpower of a given side? Even if one has the TO&E, that's only an idealized representation. Can anyone point me in the right direction or give me ideas? What have others done?
kipanderson

RE: General Modding Question

Post by kipanderson »

Hi,

"how does one accurately represent the manpower of a given side?"

You don't. If I have understood your question correctly.

What you do it build or include the correct TO&E and within that assume there is the correct manpower to go with said units. So if you take a Mech Infantry platoon you select the correct type of IFV and squad you wish for from the choices available for that date and then trust that under the bonnet the correct manpower is modeled.

All the best,
Kip.
PS. I found the editor is superb. If you slowly and carefully go through the scenario creation process as per the manual, stage by stage exactly as given your first efforts should end happily.

wstraka

Post by wstraka »

Kip,

Thank you for your response. Upon re-reading my post I think I should have said 'how does one feel that the unit strengths for represented units are accurate for the scenario.' I understand how to do the mechanics of it. I just have never felt comfortable with unit strengths (or unit morale for that matter). For example, how often was a given Soviet motorized rifle battalion at full (TO&E) strength? I don't see my question as much of an issue in a hypothetical scenario, but if one is modeling something historical, a half-strength unit or units versus 80% strength could be crucial. And my question is specific to Flashpoint Campaigns either. I'm posting it here because I think it is appropriate for a game of this (represented) scale.