Supply tutorial?

Share your gameplay tips, secret tactics and fabulous strategies with fellow gamers here.

Moderators: Joel Billings, Sabre21

Hoggorm

Supply tutorial?

Post by Hoggorm »

Hi,

As many others (I guess) I have a hard time understanding how supply works. I've tried to search this forum and YouTube for Supply Tutorials, but I'm unable to find any... (Yes, I admit I am not good at searching...) If you have a tutorial I'd be happy to get a link :)

I would really like to learn how supply works. I find the manual very hard to understand. What I basically do now is looking at Commanders Report at the end of my turn. Here I make sure that no units are on the negative side in the row "Distance to Higher HQ".

I guess that is a bit too easy and simple though?

Where do I place my combat units in relation to HQs, cities, towns, railhead, enemy units etc. to receive to optimal amount of supply each turn? Do they receive more supplies if they are one hex from the HQ than if they are five hexes away?

Same question goes for HQs. Where do I place them in relation to higher HQs, cities, towns, railhead, enemy units etc. to receive to optimal amount of supply each turn?

Should HQ units move as little as possible to save supplies?

How does Armies and Army groups HQ matter in regards to supplies?

Thank you very much
EwaldvonKleist

RE: Supply tutorial?

Post by EwaldvonKleist »

Good questions and I would like to read an answer of the veterans myself. However, here is a Link to a document I once wrote:
tm.asp?m=4172311
It should answer some of your questions and given some tips regarding HQ position and truck saving.
EwaldvonKleist

Post by EwaldvonKleist »

In a week or so I will upload the newest version which includes some corrections/additions.
Hoggorm

Post by Hoggorm »

Thank you EwaldvonKleist,

Interesting link you have there. I was not able to see any file inside the zip I downloaded though. The zip file is no more than 1 kb in size.