Thinking of getting this game but...

AGEod goes back to the Napoleonic era and delivers the most detailed and comprehensive strategy game ever created about a time of struggle and conquest that forged modern Europe.
Michael T

Thinking of getting this game but...

Post by Michael T »

As the title says. I have played Civil War II (my only other AGEOD title) and to be honest I tired of chasing renegade indians all over the far western deserts, making hundreds of inconsequential decisions and WWI like conditions in the East.

So are there any objective (read non fanboi) players out there who might shed some light on whether this game is worth the effort, time and money?

I love the period and I am a veteran of EIA player (boardgame). Tried the PC version of EIA and was left with bitter disappointment.

Could some people also opine on the status of 2 player PBEM and say 4+ PBEM.

What about this 2 player DLC I hear of?

Is this a bug riddled title or no worse than any other PC game in general?
Michael T

RE: Thinking of getting this game but...

Post by Michael T »

Sorry, don't bother. I have been to the AGEOD forums and read some stuff. Moving on.
Ostwindflak

Post by Ostwindflak »

It has problems for sure. They are slowly getting worked out. The operative word being slowly. I like the game and still tinker with it here and there. Personally I would have liked to see a full blown effort to fix this game before they dived into the production of a new game, but it's their company.

Grab it on sale sometime.
Aurelian

Post by Aurelian »

And make sure that if you go PBEM to get decent people who don't exploit the rules, or any of the problems that caused me to drop out.
Watched a documentary on beavers. Best dam documentary I've ever seen.
Michael T

Post by Michael T »

Good design should prevent said exploits, I saw your post about the Austrians.