Replacing my good commanders with bad ones

Share your gameplay tips, secret tactics and fabulous strategies with fellow gamers here.

Moderators: wdolson, MOD_War-in-the-Pacific-Admirals-Edition

CaptHaggard

Replacing my good commanders with bad ones

Post by CaptHaggard »

Newbie here. I must be doing something wrong. I am buying commanders for my sub fleet. And then I discover that many of my subs commanded by my most esteemed commanders are no longer on their subs - surreptitiously replaced by awful candidates, of whom the pool guide says something like, "Up and coming commander. Suited for command of a fleet sub". Very expensive to get rid of them. They are all 23 - 26 aggressive ratings. Like leadership, you can't learn that.

Why did I lose my good commanders? Do ships/subs automatically lose commanders after 1 or 2 cruises?

These new guys are harbor tug material at best. Might as well just mothball these vessels until I collect more PPs, unless there's a way to recover my old guys.

What am I missing?
dr.hal

RE: Replacing my good commanders with bad ones

Post by dr.hal »

This is a common misunderstanding of how things happen. If your sub is at sea (in port obviously) meaning it is in a TF of one, then you are replacing the TF commander NOT the sub commander. When that TF comes back into port and it is disbanded, lets say you want to do some sub repairs, then you LOOSE that TF commander and the commander of the sub then becomes the TF commander when the sub is put back into a new TF. Thus you see a new and sometimes less than desirable TF commander (the CO of the sub). The key to a better TF commander is to change the sub's SKIPPER while the sub is disbanded in port, thus when it is later put into a TF, the GOOD skipper is now automatically the TF commander (if the TF is only one sub).... Does this make sense to you???
wneumann

Post by wneumann »