Trying to make SAR Scenario

Post new mods and scenarios here.

Moderator: MOD_Command

Halsey1945

Trying to make SAR Scenario

Post by Halsey1945 »

Hello Everyone,

I am trying to make a SAR scenario in the Gulf of Mexico. It has the USCG searching for four randomly placed lifeboats. I am using a neutral side. This is to keep you from knowing where they are. I have gotten the lifeboats to randomly spawn. Now I am trying to have the lifeboats switch sides once they are detected. I have a detection trigger and am trying to use a lua script (SetUnitSide) action. However, I am having trouble using the UnitX script to tell Command which unit needs to change sides. Does anyone have any advice? I am quite new to lua.
Rory Noonan

RE: Trying to make SAR Scenario

Post by Rory Noonan »

Generally I would do something like so:

Unit = ScenEdit_UnitX() --Assigns UnitX table activating the trigger to the variable 'Unit'
UnitID = Unit.name --Assigns the 'name' field from the above table to the variable 'UnitID'
ScenEdit_SetUnitSide({side='Side 1',name=UnitID,newside='Side 2'}) --Changes side

If that doesn't work post your scenario up and I'll have a look [:)]

Bonus tip working with Lua: Use an editor like Notepad++ to check your code before you put it into CMANO, and if you're having trouble try running it line by line to find the error. Also make good use of the print command to check your variables. It gets easier, and the more you use it the more you'll find reasons to use it [:)]
Randomizer

Post by Randomizer »

I would advise deleting the life rafts after rescue as they serve no puropose once the people in them are picked up.

See:

Scripting sea rescues

Your call

-C
Halsey1945

Post by Halsey1945 »

Thank you Apache! That worked like a charm.