A Noob's Guide to Noobiness

Gary Grigsby’s War in the West 1943-45 is the most ambitious and detailed computer wargame on the Western Front of World War II ever made. Starting with the Summer 1943 invasions of Sicily and Italy and proceeding through the invasions of France and the drive into Germany, War in the West brings you all the Allied campaigns in Western Europe and the capability to re-fight the Western Front according to your plan.

Moderators: Joel Billings, RedLancer

HexHead

A Noob's Guide to Noobiness

Post by HexHead »

This is for people who have just got the game. Now, for the record, I've been gaming for a good bit and played War in the Pacific: AE for a while. Now, I'm just enough of a grognard to appreciate the mechanics and how WitP:AE works (I work in IT, btw, writing manuals and such, so I understand the back end a bit). To be frank, though, it was just a bit too far (hah! - that's a good one!). Not for casual gaming, the kiddy end of the pool is five feet deep.

But WitW - what an achievement, it hits that sweet spot in a way that no other serious tactical WWII game does (never looked at WitE).

The Turns are a week and a long game is 109 Turns. Manageable. Not every day of 44 months, as in WitP. Yes, you could have four day Turns in WitP, but you risked loss of operational control. The way a Turn is structured in WitW is instructive, maybe even ground-breaking.

I can't praise this design and design approach to a computer game about the subject enough; as someone who deals with scope requirements and project management, this is an outstanding team effort.

One Noob's Guide