OT: The mother of all wargames is impossible to play

This new stand alone release based on the legendary War in the Pacific from 2 by 3 Games adds significant improvements and changes to enhance game play, improve realism, and increase historical accuracy. With dozens of new features, new art, and engine improvements, War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition brings you the most realistic and immersive WWII Pacific Theater wargame ever!

Moderators: wdolson, MOD_War-in-the-Pacific-Admirals-Edition

KMCCARTHY

OT: The mother of all wargames is impossible to play

Post by KMCCARTHY »

See http://warisboring.com/articles/the-wre ... th-africa/

I had several dozen SPI games, including War in the East (I graduated from High School in 1979), but I was never foolish enough to buy this.[:)]
CaptBeefheart

RE: OT: The mother of all wargames is impossible to play

Post by CaptBeefheart »

I had that game. I played one scenario for about four turns. Unfortunately, I dumped it somewhere along the way. Probably worth a fortune nowadays.

Cheers,
CC
Beer, because barley makes lousy bread.
crsutton

Post by crsutton »

About 400 bucks if new in the box. Other games will fetch as much. Scorched Earth (a much more playable game) will fetch about that much if not more.
I am the Holy Roman Emperor and am above grammar.

Sigismund of Luxemburg
Zorch

Post by Zorch »

ORIGINAL: crsutton

About 400 bucks if new in the box. Other games will fetch as much. Scorched Earth (a much more playable game) will fetch about that much if not more.
I own a copy in mint condition. [:)]
Never tried to play it...the game really cries out for computer assistance.
BillBrown

Post by BillBrown »

It is fun, but it was hard to get all the people together at one time to play for a while. Never got more than about 15 - 20 turns into the game.
CaptBeefheart

Post by CaptBeefheart »