Nuances of Interdiction

Gary Grigsby’s War in the West 1943-45 is the most ambitious and detailed computer wargame on the Western Front of World War II ever made. Starting with the Summer 1943 invasions of Sicily and Italy and proceeding through the invasions of France and the drive into Germany, War in the West brings you all the Allied campaigns in Western Europe and the capability to re-fight the Western Front according to your plan.

Moderators: Joel Billings, RedLancer

Q-Ball

Nuances of Interdiction

Post by Q-Ball »

Hello all! I am still learning the air game despite having played this game a bit. I'm pretty comfortable with Strat Bombing at this point, but Interdiction is still something that eludes me. Can the more experienced players help?

I am invading France, and set up the following settings. Needless to say, results are very underwhelming. Am I missing something?

Aircraft: Approx. 900 RAF Rocket-Equipped FBs (Typhoon, Hurri, Mosquito), and 700 USAAF FBs (mostly P-40 and P-47 equipped with bombs)

Loadouts are 8 Rockets for all RAF FBs, and max number of bombs for the USAAF (2 or 3 bombs)

Alt: 13,000 Ft.
4 Air Directives, Overlapping, all set to Interdiction Only, on AUTO
4 Days of Missions (Days 3,4,6,7)
RECON flew all 7 days in this box, 91 RECON aircraft

Attachments
Interdiction.jpg
Interdiction.jpg (509.95 KiB) Viewed 75 times
Q-Ball

RE: Nuances of Interdiction

Post by Q-Ball »

Attached is the air directive summary; maybe I should have not had on AUTO, but rather selected more missions, but we ran quite a few. Also, all planes ran 100% of Sorties.

Should I have reduced the loadouts and mixed in fuel tanks? 7 Days instead of 4? Or, manually increased the number of missions? Or a different altitude?

Or did my opponent just do a really good job here of spreading out FLAK? (Every unit you see seemed to have a flak unit attached)

As you can see, we suffered high losses, and the LW was absent.